We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
296
113
31
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
113
31
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail yogurt grounds are beautiful door county cherries the penthouse hot tub green bay view of the bay french toast box of chocolates shuffle board steep path make your own waffles water view room hard boiled eggs salami continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 455 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Stayed their Sept 14 and 15...a great stay ...the grounds and views of Sister Bay are great....the amenties are enjoyable..the pool,hot tub,fire pit and court yard all make for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay...the staff was exceptional,helpful and care about making your stay enjoyable...would suggest staying in a room on second floor for a better view of Sister Bay...

Room tip: Rooms on second floor for better views of Sister Bay!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our views and complimentary amenities. I also appreciate the recognition of our great staff. They take great pride in their work and I will be sure to share your kind words. We hope your plans will bring you to Door County again soon and look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

They screwed up our reservation and gave it to someone elsewhere. No other hotel that would take a dog that night. We had to cut her vacation 3 days short. I don't know why hotels that are pet friendly but they only have one room that will accommodate pets I will never go back to Door County

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

I am very sorry that there was confusion over your reservation. We had you staying with us for one evening but for the date of Oct. 9th. Your email confirmation reflected the Oct 9th arrival. We so wish you had reviewed it prior to your arrival on September 19th so that we might have had time to address the discrepancies.. We have 12 designated dog rooms but we have long been completely booked for September 19 and were unable to accommodate you when you arrived. We understand how upsetting and disappointing the situation was but hope it does not affect your overall impression of Door County. It is a wonderful area and we would love an opportunity to accomodate you and your dog in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015

We had a wonderful visit at this hotel. It was very peaceful and they had beautiful flowers everywhere. The management obviously cared deeply about their property. The pool and spa were nice and clean and not crowded at all. The breakfast was very good...especially the granola and Door County cherries. We were there for our anniversary weekend and they even had a box of chocolates waiting for us which was a really nice touch! We took the nature path down to the water but it was quite steep and decided that one time was plenty for that little trek. I would definitely consider staying here again!

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank snickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and pleased that you enjoyed your stay and many of our complimentary amenities. We certainly hope your travels bring you back to Door County and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

The Country House Resort is one of my favorite hotels, and the primary reason can be summed up in three words: peace and quiet. I was introduced to it by my dear friend Kurt who, sadly, has left us for that ultimate hotel in the sky. He described the Country House as welcoming, comfortable, and pastoral, all of which it truly is. The hotel is surrounded by a large, wooded property located on a bluff above Sister Bay. Most rooms face the water, offering views that are beautiful and, as many visitors have commented, reminiscent of the New England shore. From the parking lot, you are less than a minute’s drive to state route 42, one of Door County’s two main arteries. A left turn takes you into the center of Sister Bay less than a mile away and then northward to Ellison Bay, Gill’s Rock, and the Washington Island Ferry. A right will lead you through the series of towns and shopping districts for which the area is so well known, including Ephraim, Fish Creek, and Egg Harbor. Just a few hundred yards in that direction is my favorite among Door County's many fine art galleries, the Frykman Studio, where you can view and purchase the stunning landscape images photographed by Heather and Lucas. A highlight of our recent trip was our first visit to Wickman House, a restaurant that is part of a restored mansion. The food was exceptional, the atmosphere charming, the service gracious, and the live music delightful. Generally speaking, I prefer some hotels for amenities, others for location, and still others for value. What I most like about the Country House is simply being there, enjoying the restful surroundings, and returning home with my spirit refreshed and my energy restored.

Room tip: Ask for a bay view.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

We are honored to be one of your favorite hotels. Thank you for your gracious review and all of the great information on your other favorite Door County finds. I know that other guests will appreciate it as well. I am sorry that Kurt is no longer with us but I am sure he is with you in spirit especially when you visit the Country House. Knowing that we play a special role in people's lives is the best reward we can receive. We look forward to seeing you again soon and welcome you any time you are looking to refresh and restore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Great experience starting with the front desk personnel, our view from our room of the lake and the water fountain they have and the following day we enjoyed a nice breakfast, tennis courts, kayaks and bikes-couldn't have been better!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay including the view from your private water view balcony and our wonderful front desk staff. It is also great to know that you were able to enjoy so many of our complimentary amenities. There is even more to do! We hope to see you again soon to experience more of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews