We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amenities - High Price For Rooms In Need Of Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
E Dubuque, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Amenities - High Price For Rooms In Need Of Updating”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We loved all the amenities ~ row boat, tennis, hot tub & pool (outside only), bikes, etc. If the weather is good, it could be a fun time.

As far as the rooms: for the price of $118 a night it was not worth it. When checking in we were offered an upgrade to $168 room and decided not to spend the $50 extra. We do not recommend staying in the $118 room. It was outdated, small and stuffy. As far as the other rooms, we didn't see them.

The lake is at least 1 city block long down a steep hill. So for the physically out of shape it is a challenge.

We also loved the friendly and helpful staff. When we requested a refund in order to leave a day early they did give it to us.

  • Liked — Beautiful Gardens
  • Disliked — Room Outdated
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Guinevere123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
258
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

First time in Door County area and my husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. The Country House Resort had beautiful grounnds. There was a great walking trail down to the water. I would not suggest swimming in the lake. It was a rocky beach. The pool however was very nice with a nice hot tub. Our room was huge. It was a loft unit that had a queen bed and it's own bath. There was a living area, small bar area and a room with a king bed and bath. It would be great for two couples. I did think it was a little expensive. The decor was really dated! But the room was extremly clean and the beds were so comfortable. There were six fluffy pillows on each bed.
We ate at a wonderful restuarant called "Mission Grille". They had a great covered porch and food. We would most likely go back.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — The decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMLL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
305 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We like to book at all adult properties and it's tough in Door County. Ashebrooke Suites in Egg Harbor is exquisite but we like to stay further north. Decided to try this place since it was adults only. The high room price was not justified considering the dated decor and amenities. Our room had a view of Green Bay, and was a large room but otherwise looked like it had not been updated since the 70's, as another writer mentioned. There is no indoor pool or spa, which I consider an essential in northern Wisconsin, especially at a place that caters to adults only.

  • Liked — All adults
  • Disliked — Needs updating to 21st century standards
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wisconsinwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fallowfield,PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My husband and I were in Wisconsin to visit a friend and decided to spend our anniversary weekend at this resort. As we entered the grounds of the Country House Resort we were immediately impressed with the spectacular gardens , manicured lawn, attractive lodge, and great view of the water.The grounds have many gardens with spectacular periennials, sitting areas, ponds, and fountains. The inn sits on the top of a steep hill and there is a path which leads down to the water. There is also a nature trail through the woods which leads into the town of Sister Bay. The resort is in a secluded spot so that you cannot hear traffic from the highway. There were no children there, as they have an age restriction of no children under 13 so the pool area was always quiet.
We had the complimentary use of bikes and row boats. There is a tennis court, shuffleboard, pool and large spa area. There is also an area where you can sit out on the large deck which has a great view of the water.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in making recommendations and meeting our every need.. We had excellent breakfasts each morning which could be eaten in the spacious lobby area or a nice sitting area outside. There was coffee, tea, and juice available all day along with delicious cookies.
When we first arrived in our room we discovered that they had left us a box of chocolates for our anniversary. I had mentioned that we were coming there for our anniversary when I made our reservation over the phone. The rooms are clean and comfortable with excellent amenities. We had a refrigerator, coffemaker, terry robes and nice toiletries. We had a nice balcony with the best view of the water and town.The decor was just average, but the outside grounds and view made up for it.
We loved Sister Bay and its closness to the rest of Door County.
We hope to get back some day and would definately stay here again!

  • Liked — The location and grounds
  • Disliked — room decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We've been staying at the Country House Resort for many years. The rooms are nice with a beautiful view of the Bay from your balcony.

The adult atmosphere is very relaxing and perfect for people seeking to get away from the kids. You can swim in the pool without being splashed by kids playing and screaming. They also supply you with pool towels and robes in your room.

The property is beautifully landscaped with flowers and fountains and a short trail to the water. The trail also continues through the woods to Sister Bay for people wishing to take in nature. If you only want to walk down to the water, there is a dock which offers great sunset views.

The resort also offers brand new bikes to use free of charge, row boats, shuffleboard, tennis courts, badmitton and other games.

There is a continental breakfast which is average - no waffles or pancakes, but they do put out warm fresh baked cookies mid afternoon which all the guests wait for. They are delicious!

When making your reservation, let them know if it is your anniversary, and they will put a little surprise in your room.

The staff are all very pleasant and accommodating.

We look forward to our trip every year.

  • Liked — Adult atmosphere
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast - no hot items such as waffles
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This was our first trip to Door County, so I relied on Trip Advisor to find a place to stay. We have traveled extensively in the US by car over the past 25 years, and I have always used AAA tour books to find motels. I was surprised to find very few listed by AAA for Door County even though there were many listed on Trip Advisor. The Country House got many positive reviews but was not listed by AAA. It required that we pay for all 4 nights even if we decided to stay fewer nights once we arrived, limiting our flexibility. It also required payment for the full stay on checkin. I looked for other options that would give us more flexibility and more confidence what to expect but finally decided to go with The Country House. We were so glad that we did. In fact, we enjoyed the drive up through Door County on route 42 so much and were so impressed with The Country House property that my husband asked them if we could add a 5th night to our stay--before we even saw our room! I had reserved a "pool view" room with a queen bed. The Country House personnel warned me that it was considered small by current hotel standards. We found it to be perfectly comfortable with a good sized bathroom. The owners seemed to have given much thought to various amenities, such as terry robes and special towels in the room to be used to go to the spa by the pool. The property seemed quite well maintained, and attention was given to recycling with a sign posted in the guest room requesting that several recycle containers be used for paper and beverage containers. Other reviewers have commented on the chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, the complimentary breakfast, and the prime location on Green Bay--we enjoyed all of these immensely. Everything was so peaceful, relaxing, and enjoyable. We would love to become repeat guests at The Country House in future years!

  • Liked — Peaceful, beautiful, comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We have stayed at Country House Resort annually for the past three years. The accomodations are fantastic. We enjoy the breakfast, waterside dock, nature trail, bike ammenities, and pool. The service is wonderful as everyone we encountered is very pleasant and hospitable. The grounds are within walking distance of many restaurants in Sister Bay.

We highly recommend anyone visiting Door County to consider Country House Resort for their lodging needs.

  • Liked — Ammentieis
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCVisitorGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing