We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continual attention to detail & updates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheboygan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continual attention to detail & updates”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have stayed here many times & are always impressed with every aspect of the resort-from the rooms themselves, to the gorgeous views, to the outstanding staff.
Recent updates we noticed were:fresh, neutral paint in-room, beautiful modern blinds for patio door, & new carpet.
The furnishings & beds are always super comfortable.
We love the jacuzzi tubs!
And we are always amazed with the welcoming & helpful staff. Manager Amy is great!
Country House Resort is our favorite place to stay in Door Co (& we have been coming to The Door for 18+years)!
Thank you for all the great stays/memories.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so very much for your repeat business and kind review. We are very excited about the many updates we have made to the rooms and suites this off-season. We are very proud of the many excellent reviews we have received on TA but we also heard the message last year that some of the rooms we beginning to look a bit tired and it was time for us to invest in updating them to maintain the high standards we strive for at the Country House. It is especially gratifying to receive positive feedback on the updates from someone who has been staying with us for many years. I also want to thank you for specifically mentioning our manager, Amy. She does such a great job for us and all of our guests. I know your compliments mean a great deal to her. We are so pleased to be your "home" in Door County and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
262
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and it was exceptional. Clean large room. Continental breakfast was already in the room for the morning. Grounds are beautiful and probably even more so in the summer. Close to town and attractions. Will stay again for sure!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhartler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of our property. We are so pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay. The resort and Door County are very quiet this time of year but also peaceful and beautiful. We hope you will return for a longer stay and maybe try one of the other seasons spring, summer or fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just got back from celebrating our wedding anniversary here and can't wait to return in 2014. We had a lovely time . The rooms and atmosphere was warm , clean & inviting. We felt so good that our two dogs were also welcomed with a basket of treats & other goodies. Thank you so much for such a great experience. Jane & John Morocco

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Jane & John - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very well maintained older hotel, with excellent lake views and lovely gardens.
Very welcoming staff at check in and departure.
Rooms were super clean and well appointed. We travel everywhere with our two small dogs, the hotel made excellent accommodations for them. They had their own welcome "packet" with treats, extra towels and a cover sheet - very thoughtful.
Our bed and pillows were very comfortable.
All in all a great place to stay at reasonable prices.
Will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks you for your review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our property, staff and your overall experience with us. We began to accommodate dogs about 3 years ago as a result of my parents traveling with their Corgi, Riley. We wanted to provide upscale accommodations that not only allow but welcome dogs. The welcome basket you mentioned is our effort to make your stay with your dogs easier and more comfortable. We are especially pleased, that appreciative dogs owners like yourself have been so conscientious. We have policies in place such as designated dog friendly rooms and requiring that dogs not be left unattended, that allow us to successfully accommodate both those who travel with and without dogs. Thank you again for your post. We hope to see you and your dogs again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Door County for a weekend get-a-way and enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Country House Resort. Country House is centrally located - only a quick drive to many wineries, restaurants, lovely views and sites, and events. It's an adults only facility, which at first made me a little leery, but I can understand it now that I'm been there....it's a safety issue given the steep hill behind the resort and the cliffs along the resort's private path. I would have a hard time bringing my kids there without reservation for their safety given the cliffs, so good call on the resort's part. Also, it was a quiet, peaceful location, well suited for retirees and romantics - the peace would have been disturbed if kids were running about. Overall the resort exceeded my exceptations. It was a bit dated, but it was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the view was amazing. I only wish we had been there a week or two earlier to catch the fall colors and the warmer weather. If warmer I would have brought my tennis racket to play on the Country House court, and swimsuit to enjoy the hot tub. The last weekend of October proved to be at least a week past prime for Door County - many restaurants and resorts were already closed for the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momibabeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased that we met our goal of exceeding your expectations! Our policy of adults and children 13 years and older does allow us to maintain a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. I apologize that you found some of the shops or restaurants you hoped to visit closed. Most seasonal businesses close about the first of November but I do enjoy the peace and quiet of the off season even if there are fewer businesses open year round. We hope you will visit again next year to enjoy the fall colors and our great view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The resort is somewhat dated, but kept up well. The location/view is perfect. Sister Bay is ok. I personally prefer Fish Creek downtown better (Whistling Swan Inn). Breakfast was included, an average hotel breakfast. The staff are very nice and friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view, maybe even second floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling bins in every room! optional cleaning per day.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjd1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that our central location in Sister Bay allowed you to enjoy your favorite spots in Fish Creek and throughout the Door County Peninsula. We appreciate your comments regarding some aspects of the resort appearing dated. Each year we invest in significant upgrades and updates. Our plans for this coming off season include updates to our room decor and completing some exterior painting. We hope you will return next year to see and enjoy our latest enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I've only been here a few hours, but am already very impressed. The views are breathtaking, the amenities superb, friendly staff, clean rooms with fantastic bathrooms, and wonderful welcome goodies for my fur babies. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KCHolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for so promptly posting a review of our property. We hope you were pleased through out your stay. We are also happy to know that your "fur babies" enjoyed the welcome basket of treats and items to make their stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing