We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, welcomed our dogs as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very well maintained older hotel, with excellent lake views and lovely gardens.
Very welcoming staff at check in and departure.
Rooms were super clean and well appointed. We travel everywhere with our two small dogs, the hotel made excellent accommodations for them. They had their own welcome "packet" with treats, extra towels and a cover sheet - very thoughtful.
Our bed and pillows were very comfortable.
All in all a great place to stay at reasonable prices.
Will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olbear1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thanks you for your review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our property, staff and your overall experience with us. We began to accommodate dogs about 3 years ago as a result of my parents traveling with their Corgi, Riley. We wanted to provide upscale accommodations that not only allow but welcome dogs. The welcome basket you mentioned is our effort to make your stay with your dogs easier and more comfortable. We are especially pleased, that appreciative dogs owners like yourself have been so conscientious. We have policies in place such as designated dog friendly rooms and requiring that dogs not be left unattended, that allow us to successfully accommodate both those who travel with and without dogs. Thank you again for your post. We hope to see you and your dogs again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 414 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Door County for a weekend get-a-way and enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Country House Resort. Country House is centrally located - only a quick drive to many wineries, restaurants, lovely views and sites, and events. It's an adults only facility, which at first made me a little leery, but I can understand it now that I'm been there....it's a safety issue given the steep hill behind the resort and the cliffs along the resort's private path. I would have a hard time bringing my kids there without reservation for their safety given the cliffs, so good call on the resort's part. Also, it was a quiet, peaceful location, well suited for retirees and romantics - the peace would have been disturbed if kids were running about. Overall the resort exceeded my exceptations. It was a bit dated, but it was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the view was amazing. I only wish we had been there a week or two earlier to catch the fall colors and the warmer weather. If warmer I would have brought my tennis racket to play on the Country House court, and swimsuit to enjoy the hot tub. The last weekend of October proved to be at least a week past prime for Door County - many restaurants and resorts were already closed for the season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momibabeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased that we met our goal of exceeding your expectations! Our policy of adults and children 13 years and older does allow us to maintain a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. I apologize that you found some of the shops or restaurants you hoped to visit closed. Most seasonal businesses close about the first of November but I do enjoy the peace and quiet of the off season even if there are fewer businesses open year round. We hope you will visit again next year to enjoy the fall colors and our great view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The resort is somewhat dated, but kept up well. The location/view is perfect. Sister Bay is ok. I personally prefer Fish Creek downtown better (Whistling Swan Inn). Breakfast was included, an average hotel breakfast. The staff are very nice and friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view, maybe even second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjd1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that our central location in Sister Bay allowed you to enjoy your favorite spots in Fish Creek and throughout the Door County Peninsula. We appreciate your comments regarding some aspects of the resort appearing dated. Each year we invest in significant upgrades and updates. Our plans for this coming off season include updates to our room decor and completing some exterior painting. We hope you will return next year to see and enjoy our latest enhancements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I've only been here a few hours, but am already very impressed. The views are breathtaking, the amenities superb, friendly staff, clean rooms with fantastic bathrooms, and wonderful welcome goodies for my fur babies. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank KCHolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for so promptly posting a review of our property. We hope you were pleased through out your stay. We are also happy to know that your "fur babies" enjoyed the welcome basket of treats and items to make their stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife found the Country House for a last minute Door Co. getaway. The room was quiet and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the continental breakfast was free. Some nice outdoor amenities (hot tub, small pool, tennis court) and easy access to a nice walking trail along the water. For the price this is a good deal for Door Co.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sparkcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found us for your last minute get-a-way and enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Three of us went to Door County for a couple of days. We picked this resort because it looked nice and was dog friendly. The rooms were very clean, a little old fashioned but fine. The grounds are stunning, with a fabulous view of the lake and gardens. There are several fountains, so everywhere you go you hear them, it's very serene. There were no young children (they don't allow children under 13, which is a plus for me) making a racket. The breakfast was a lovely European style continental affair, which we enjoyed. The staff was so helpful and kind. My dog loved the walks and available outdoor spaces (and the treats that were left in the room for him). My friends tried the bikes out, and said they weren't in great shape, and the toliet had a leak, but they fixed within ten minutes of being told.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that all of you, including your dog, enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that we promptly addressed the leaking toilet and apologize for your inconvenience. I have also asked our maintenance person to take a look at the bikes and take care of any wear and tear from the busy season. Thank you again and we hope to see all of you on your next trip to Door County,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed Friday&Saturday. The location was excellent( nice walk down to the beach,many places to sit inside and outside property,upgraded continental property,friendly staff) but, our stay was disappointing because the toilet in our room wouldn't flush right. The staff said it was fixed, but it wasn't. Timid about second booking, if all room toilets are similar. Sounds from adjacent rooms very noticeable. Internet access much appreciated.

Bill&Lynn

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for providing a review of your stay with us. We are so very sorry that you had issues with the toilet in your room during your stay. Our Maintenance person Chris, used a drain coil and thought the problem was resolved. We should have followed up with you to be sure you were not having further problems. As a result of your input we have replaced the toilet in that room with a completely new one. We are pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including the view and location. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and assure you that the issues with your toilet were an isolated incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
829 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing