We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I recently spent a weekend at Country House Resort. Honestly, I selected this location for a girls weekend primarily because it was one of the few places with rooms available that weekend that did not have a required a night stay. Having stayed there, I don't know why rooms were still available. What a lovely surprise we had when we arrived. The grounds of the Country House Resort are well maintained and create a sense of serenity. It is tucked out of the way, but that adds to the sense of calm you get while staying there. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We were greeted by a gentleman who offered suggestions for activities and eateries during our stay. When the fuse blew in our room, the front desk corrected the issue within minutes and then called to check to make sure everything was back to normal.

The room had all of the features you'd expect: frig, coffee maker, hair dryer, AC, and more. The back porch opened up to a well manicured open space complete with a fountain and flowers. Your night stay includes continental breakfast served in the lobby area, but you can take your breakfast right out side that area and enjoy breakfast in the fresh morning air. The property includes a trail (kind of steep) that leads right down to Sister Bay. Once at the bottom of the trail, there is a sturdy dock with benches to sit and watch the sunset. There is also a path the connects to that path that skirts along the Bay and leads right into Sister Bay with only a short walk. We were surprised how close it was. This trail is great for an early morning walk!

If it's not clear already, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Country Inn Resort. Although it was more expensive than some of our other choices, it was well worth it. I'll be back on my next stay in Door County.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the well-groomed grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChillinandRelaxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent a couple of days at the Country House Resort in Sister Bary, WI. Our room was spacious and well-apppointed with a lovely view. Bed was very comfortable. Check-in was smooth and the desk person was pleasant and helpful. Had some recommendations for places to eat. Grounds are pretty and well kept. I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had a water view, but a garden view would be pleasant as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHG0165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It's so hard to pick a resort on-line. I made a good call on this one. It was well away from the traffic, very relaxing. I was so glad I hadn't booked at one of the other resorts advertising online. Once I was in the area and could see them, the others were right on the main highways. This resort was secluded on 16 beautifully shaded acres. We only stayed 2 nights, and used the pool once (it rained the 2nd evening).. we were alone except for a quick visit from another very friendly guest. If you're the party-going type you may be disappointed, but we got exactly what we wanted.. peace and quiet. I don't remember that it had advertised as adult only, but that was a very nice bonus.. no kids running around or splashing in the pool, as we saw at other resorts. Will definately come back, if we head this way again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nurse_Pat0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Country House for 1 nt to celebrate our anniversary. It couldn't have been any better! The room was beautiful (we got the last one left - 603 - which was 2 bedrooms, balcony, microwave, refrigerator). All the decor was very updated. Nice pool and hot tub, patio by pool to sip wine, lounge chairs looking over fountains and the Bay. We went up to bike ride and had 2 beautiful loops (30 miles and 50) each day. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheryld1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very quiet with lovely grounds. So nice to be up above the hub-bub of the tourists of Door County, but just a 15 minute walk (along the water) away from excellent restaurants. We loved relaxing on the chaise lounges or on our balcony, with excellent views. Hadn't anticipated how nice it would be to have no kids around. The special part of breakfast is the big bowl of cherries.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eauclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We find the people at Country House Resort very welcoming and accommodating. We have stayed at this facility twice and find the place very relaxing and nice. My husband has limited mobility, and by stating this, we have always received ideal placements for our rooms. We would go back again.

Room Tip: If you want a water view, try a king suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We planned an all girls weekend and decided on this resort. We were not prepaired for such an older croud...though ALL we encounterd were extremely friendly. We were able to get into our room at 1pm which was fabulous. Our housekeeper Tammy was a gem and made a great first impression. The pool/whirlpool area were nice, but the whirlpool was less to be desired. Very cloudy and is need of repairs. Only having 1 ice machine on property was rather bothersome. The path to the waterfront was great for us as it was a wonderful work out. (VERY STEEP). Bees nest on our balcony was alarming but was taken care of the next day by a very nice maintenance worker. Breakfast was ok to say the least, and very crowded. The grounds are well maintained and the fountains very soothing. Closing the pool/whirpool down at 10:30 pm is a HUGE dissapointment. Our room was clean except for a moldy shower curtain which was taken care of right away. Not really sure why smoking is not allowed on the balcony but the smokers managed to go to the "designated" areas in front of the check in area (main lobby). The gentleman who checked us in was personable and had answers to all our questions. Found it a bit strange that we had to pay for the room upfront rather than at time of check out. I have never heard of this. All in all the resort is nice for the older crowd. All of us girls plan our trip a year in advance and look forward to getting away for a few days from the hussle and bustle of everyday life. At this resort, make sure your not too loud because there will be complaints from other guests and you will get a call from management threatning to kick you out if you dont keep it down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osteoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and were not a good fit for your group. Our peaceful, secluded location and policy of accomodating adults and children over 13 years of age lends itself to quiet getaways but this can conflict with those looking for a more active and lively atmosphere. The whirlpool closes at 10:30pm to ensure a peaceful nights sleep for those near the pool area. We also must attempt to balance the concerns of all of our guests and we did receive multiple noise complaints from other guests. It is not our intention to threaten any guest but mearly to express the need for all to respect and maintain our relaxing atmosphere.

I agree that Tammy is a gem and I am glad she was able to enhance your stay and I do apologize for the shower curtain and the bees. We strive to maintain the highest standards. Door County is such a wonderful place with a wide variet of accomodations, I do hope you find something that better meets the needs of your group and the experience you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
830 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: $92 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing