We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away for the winter...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend. Located off the main highway, this hotel has charm and the rooms have a view of the bay. The staff was friendly and when we got to our room there were scones, juice & yogurt in the fridge. Very nice & clean rooms. The town is a little shut down in the winter but we had a good time anyways. Would stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed the resort and your breakfast snack! Door County IS much quieter this time of year but it is so peaceful and beautiful I wish more people would take the opportunity for a relaxing, laid back getaway. We hope you will also visit again during the spring, summer or fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Country House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

We arrived for our one night stay on Thanksgiving. We have never stayed in a place that actually had a welcome basket chuck full of goodies for our dog! Sheets, homemade biscuits, towels,water dish,bags in a dispenser! How nice is that?
Our room was great with a balcony,a huge LG flat screen that articulated,a refridgerator that surprised us with complimentary orange juice and yogurt. We also had fresh baked scones in our room. The bed had some sort of fabulous pillow topper and the room,while being dog friendly,had no evidence of any pet having ever stayed there. The carpets and linen where spotless,the bathroom was updated.
We will return here and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We arrived Oct. 3, 2011 after a devastating windstorm which downed many trees on the large property & took out power for several days. The man who checked us in, the office on generator, had 2 cars damaged by falling limbs. Everyone was friendly & patient. The hotel had power & breakfast was served as usual for guests. Electricians worked outdoors & clean up crews kept at it. We've stayed here for several years & this stay was just as pleasant (except for feeling bad for the owners', who also manage the resort). The rooms, views of the bay & woods, facilities & personnel are great. We'll be back next year, of course.

Room Tip: Top level allows lovely views of the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review! You visited us on an especially difficult week end. Fortunately most all of the tree damage occurred on the property border not the main lawns or areas around the buildings. Clean up that week end was rather overwhelming and we tried so hard not to inconvenience our guests and get things "back to normal." The silver lining in the whole experience was how understanding and supportive all of our guests like yourself were. We can't thank you enough and look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

What can I say? We are hooked on this off-the-main-road resort with its fabulous view of the bay of Sister Bay. This cozy resort caters to couples, and frankly, we like it because of that. We are Baby Boomers who still work full-time and we visit the Country House to relax and unwind. We've almost always stayed in a specialty room so we can chill in the in-room, two-person whirlpool and stash our wine and cheese in the fridge.

Throw open the sliding glass doors to the balcony and breath in the fresh air (faintly smelling of woodsmoke). Watch boats glide in and out of the harbor of Sister Bay. Watch night fall over the ridge above Sister Bay. Take a brisk walk around the well-kept grounds. Chat with other couples in the cozy breakfast room off the lobby.

The resort updates something every winter, it seems. We were happy with the flat-screen LG TV in the room and we were pleased to have excellent wireless Internet service this trip.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to pet dander, mention it when you make reservations.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MimiJWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We recently made our second visit to the Country House since they went "dog-friendly" and once again had a wonderful time. We found the same amenities that charmed us the first time - a clean, comfortable, spacious room (we had a king suite), a fabulous view, beautiful well-maintained grounds, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, and convenient breakfast and late-day snacks. And the dog-welcome basket is great! This time we had yet another reason to enjoy our room - not only was it convenient for our Italian greyhound Birdie (who had lots of fun and even saw some deer right outside our room), but it was wheelchair accessible, to accomodate my recently-broken ankle. Despite that little twist, we had a great fall getaway and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can get a water-view room, the view is incredible!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLMarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for your review and THANK YOU for your repeat visit! We are so pleased that you and Birdie enjoyed another stay with us. I am so sorry to hear about your ankle and glad we could accommodate your special needs as well. Fall is such a beautiful time in Door County. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This resort was even better then I hoped it would be! Friendly staff, clean and quiet room with a spectacular view. Really nice breakfast assortment and good! Was a great sister getaway retreat and will be back in the spring but will be staying longer next time!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazzlynrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring for a longer stay. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Country House is nice and quiet, providing a relaxing atmosphere. It is convenient but away from noisy roads and tourist traffic. The staff is very friendly and the beds are comfortable. The decor could use some updating and there was a slight smell in our unit for our stay but other than that we enjoyed it and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our friendly staff and convenient location. I really do believe that our secluded setting on the bluffs overlooking the waters of Sister Bay, yet with in walking distance of downtown Sister Bay, is unique among lodging properties in Door County.

I also understand and appreciate you comments regarding some of our decor. Each year we review guest input, staff suggestions and general market trends to create and prioritize a list of updates and projects for our slower season. Last year one of our upgrades were flat screen TVs. This year comforters, linens and other decor items are at the top of the list. Feedback such as yours helps us to prioritize our annual investments on things most important to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
11.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#8 of 17 in Sister Bay
76 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: $93 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing