We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect couples getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect couples getaway”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here---we have been married 2 years and are expecting our first child, so this mini vacation served dual purposes of a anniversary trip/babymoon :) We were very satisfied with the resort as a whole and would come back anytime possible! Working with kids on a daily basis, we appreciated the adults only atmosphere and found it immensely relaxing and peaceful. Being dog lovers, we also loved that this resort is dog friendly, and spoke about bringing our shih-apoo Rascal next time! The grounds were beautifully landscaped with flowers, fountains, swings and gazebos and I spent many a morning, enjoying my coffee and a book under a shady spot. The pool/hottub/ patio area was wonderful. Plenty of comfy recliners to relax on, as well as umbrellas for those who wished to stay out of the sun. The pool was clean and refreshing and the hottub was a great size. It was fantastic to have breakfast included in our rate as well. A fantastic array of offerings, and 4 mornings I managed to have something different each time. The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering any questions that we had about the area or things to do. I really appreciated the menus in the lobby--that made choosing a destination for dinner MUCH easier! Rooms were always cleaned in a timely manner and the grounds crew could always be seen early in the morning, cleaning the ponds, pool and hottub maticulously. He even offered to blow the leaves off the tennis court for us when we expressed interest! Overall, we really enjoyed our vacation time at the Country House. The location was perfect for bumming around the peninsula aimlessly each day and provided a very comfortable, affordable "home base" to return to each night. While the base room we reserved was very "hotel basic" it fit our needs perfectly and was the right price for a young couple. Thank you for keeping it in your family all these years, the history of this place makes it even more special! We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting the 100th review of our property! We appreciated the time and effort of all 100 reviewers and are excited to reach this milestone. We know that the information provided in detailed reviews like yours is extremely valuable to others looking for accommodations in Door County. As owners, management and staff we value each review and use the information provided to continually monitor and improve the experience we offer.Thank you again for all the great information in your review. Best wishes for your new family and we hope you will choose the Country House the next time you and your husband can find time for a couples getaway to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    99
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
256
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This resort did everything right for us. The grounds were lovely. Everyone we encountered was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was great. Having kids of my own, I am almost embarrassed to say I loved the fact that no small children were present.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveDoorCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, breakfast and atmosphere created by our policy of accommodating adults and children 13 years of age and older. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Long time DC visitor / traveler (since 1990); May 2011 was our first time staying at Country House Resort upon the recommendation of friends. We found we liked these points the best:
• Physical location off Rt42 was a great feature for what we wanted for our DC trip.
• Building is set back off Rt42 so zero street noise.
• The lot and grounds are quite pleasant with spring time flower gardens, trimmed lawn, water fountains. Moving water is very soothing and it was on both sides of our room.
• We like hiking so having a 4ft wide hiking trail on property down to the water and a nearby forest walk to marina as well was enjoyable. We walked it daily each evening (with flashlights handy).
• Our 2nd floor balcony “water view” room overlooked the bay. Morning coffee on balcony was the absolute best.
• The main lobby staff was friendly, helpful and eager to help on any subject any question. Lots of recommendations provided.
• Breakfast is included with the price. Very convenient; good quality food; good choices. Unlimited coffee.
• I am allergic to ‘feather’ pillows; Foam pillows were available as well in the room.
• Overall, CH gets an A+ on service, location, food, cost and our recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skywarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We've been going to Door County for over thirty years, and just discovered the Country House Resort this past weekend. Conveniently located just off Hwy 42, (behind Pirate's Cove and Johnson Park), you feel like you're a world away from all the traffic once you enter the park;like grounds.

Our King room was spacious and included a recliner, table & two chairs and a private deck with a marvelous view of the water. The private path down to the beach, and the pretty path thru the woods to the village are delightful.

On the grounds are a pool and hot-tub along with many outdoor seating areas for additional enjoyment of the surroundings.

The continental breakfast was just fine; afternoon cookies and around-the-clock coffee were appreciated.

Each staff member that we encountered was friendly and helpful. Before leaving, we checked out the penthouse for a possible future trip with friends - it's terrific and we hope to stay there one day.

Overall, the Country House Resort met our needs perfectly...we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Overall, this is a nice place to stay, quiet (no kids allowed) and in a great location with a good view of Sister Bay. The recliner in the king room is comfy, as is the bed. One major problem, though: the bathrooms are still back in the 60's with old-fashioned round toilets that I haven't seen in even a cheap motel for many years. Further updating is needed to justify the otherwise acceptable price (for a resort town). Also, the plumbing system also needs to be repaired, as we had to change rooms to find plumbing that worked. Luckily, it was off season so another room was available. We were told several rooms had the same plumbing problem. Just putting in new drapes and bedspread, as they apparently did, is not enough.

Room Tip: Go for the king lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1gudriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I apologize that there was a problem with the plumbing in your first room. I am pleased to hear we were able to move you to another room however we realize that is an inconvenience we want to avoid. I believe that your first room was in our main building which still has the older, round bowl toilets. We are continually working to upgrade and improve our facilities and amenities. Replacing the toilets in the main building is actually next on our list, therefore your review confirms this is an upgrade we need to complete as soon as possible. I am very glad you enjoyed the beautiful view, location and other room amenities. We will continue to work to provide the best possible facilities and guest experience. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2011

A little over four hours from Chicago. Get away and relax. Big balcony looking over Sister Bay is a much better place than almost about anywhere. Hot tub was nice even if the weather was a little cool. Pillows and bed very comfy. All of Door County right down the road. The grounds can be descibed as green and lush.

Room Tip: Second floor best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petedonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the beautiful view! We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed at the Country House Resort in November of 2010. The price seemed high for "off peak". The employee's were not very helpful. They seemed to be in the "off mode". They did not suggest any dining or things to do, They just kept saying "well it's the off season you know". There was no breakfest, just a couple of muffins, yogart and orange juice in the mini fridge. Even though we were there in the off season, the employee's still need to take care of the guests. Maybe it would be different during the peak season.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAKIBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
3.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
11.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#5 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at this adult only (children 13 years and older), waterfront resort. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private water view balconies overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Accommodations available with in-room whirlpools and gas fireplaces. Complimentary bikes, kayaks, tennis and a European style continental breakfast buffet (May-Oct). Amenities include heated outdoor pool, outdoor whirlpool, fire table, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Reservations for designated dog friendly rooms must be made by calling the resort directly. No online reservations that include a dog. See our website for our complete Dog Policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing