We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Sister Bay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasse's Grill

Grasse's Grill
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great burgers, sandwiches, salads, dinners, Wisconsin made ice cream, desserts, and great beer and wine selection. Our focus is on homemade, fresh foods utilizing Wisconsin products. Lots of vegetarian options! Jimmy and Jessica Grasse
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Sister Bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thanks again Trip Advisor to pointing us towards this great restaurant! We shared the catch of the day (fried perch) and the cherry chicken salad. Both were excellent! The salad dressings and tarter sauce are made on-site and were delicious! The perch was definitely a great choice as it was caught fresh that day! The waitress we had was super friendly and helped us by answering all of our questions about Sister Bay and Door County! Great variety of food choices! Definitely a great place to eat in Sister Bay, WI.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysmom1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    132
    38
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Sorry, but I wasn't impressed with Grasse's. My husband had the brisket sandwich which he said was good.

I had the half cherry chicken salad sandwich with a cup of cream of mushroom soup. The sandwich was just okay to me, and the soup was watery and actually smelled like Campbells. I was disappointed in the whole meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica G, Owner at Grasse's Grill, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry to read you were not pleased with your meal. Our soups are always homemade and have been since the day we opened. The soup you were referencing was made with over 10 pounds of mushrooms and fresh cream, and was a traditional cream of mushroom soup. We don't have Campbell's soup in the restaurant so I can't make a comparison on the smell, but I can assure ours is much fresher and of a much higher quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and the food...yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went looking for a cool place to get breakfast and stumbled on Grasse's. We sat outside and were able to enjoy the scenery while having a fantastic meal. The employees were outstanding and really cared about customer service. I had the breakfast burrito and could only eat half it was so huge - stuffed full of goodies! Great value as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service a miss at this local food grill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Not sure the Grasse's commit to customer service. Food is average and you can pass this place up and find similar if not better food on 42. First of all if your kitchen is at capacity, do not take carry out orders. We were seated and our order was taken but then an hour weight for burgers? We just missed breakfast service due to waiting for table then an hour wait and were told due to large amount of carry out orders. Second, front of the house run by young kids. Our waitress never came back to the table and offered refill on drinks or ask how the meal was. Even with the hour wait, she was no where to be found. After dropping drinks off , we had to go to kitchen area to find her. When paying bill hostess asked how things where and told here about terrible wait, in which she said have a good day. Don't ask a question if you don't want the truth. Plenty of other places in DC who understand service along with good food. Sandwiches and burgers not worth the wait and glad you shut breakfast off to a party of four but see a woman seated after us at the counter served breakfast. Would never go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LZfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica G, Owner at Grasse's Grill, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I'm sorry your experience at our restaurant was not up to your expectations. We, the Grasses and our staff, are 100% commited to customer service and you'll notice the majority of our reviews mention just how great the service is. The front of the house is not run by young kids, but by myself and our two adult managers. We do have a younger hostess who has grown up in a restaurant family and is quite capable and a busser who is from a similar background, but every other FOH employee is an adult. While there is never an excuse for poor service, you were here on the busiest day in our history (and Door County's) and a waitress had to leave emergently right around the breakfast/lunch changeover. So things were not quite as smooth as they usually are, and our other reviews reflect the norm for us. I have reinforced with staff the importance of letting me know when someone isn't happy and doing everything we can to remedy the situation. I was at the counter when you were here, and would not let one party have breakfast and not another. I'm not sure I see anything wrong with the hostess telling you to have a good day. We sincerely hope you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved the menu options. Hard to choose what to order because everything sounded good. Went with southwest salad and fish Reuben and they were both excellent. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasse's Grill also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Grasse's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing