We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”
Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Okauchee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have travelled to Door Co. many times but this was our first stay at the Birchwood Lodge in Sister Bay. My husband and I agree that this is the best place that we have stayed in Door Co. Our room was very clean and provided us with what we needed for our stay - small kitchenette, king size bed, and large balcony. We also were very happy with the fitness facility and indoor pool. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. My husband forgot his electric toothbrush after we left, and we received it in the mail the next day. Excellent customer service. We will recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and the south side of the building which gave us nice afternoon sun. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Second year in row staying here and booked for next year already. Close enough to all the cities stores and action. Friendly staff and personell. Clean rooms. Pool and hot tub clean and working properly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My time in Birchwood Lodge was absolutely perfect! I was with a couple of friends and the space was more than big enough for all of us and a lot (I really mean a lot) of baggage, Room was very clean and housekeeping service was at the top level. The front desk was incredible helpful and friendly, they helped us a lot to meet Door County better.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Door County, this hotel is a true home away from home:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for just one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. The room was simple, spacious, quiet, and clean. Had a small kitchenette, Jacuzzi tub, and comfy bed. The bathroom was spacious and had double sinks. The staff was friendly and helpful. No complaints. Think more woodsy/lodge rather than luxury. It's several blocks away from the main shopping - a little longer than walking distance, but with a car or bike everything is minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

There were 5 of us on a girls weekend. We stayed in a village home. It was spacious and clean. Our kitchen was well stocked even with left over containers. We were missing a large fry pan and just called the front desk and they found one for us. There were also movies and games. The outdoor pool was just the right temp. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavylunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are timeshare people, so when a scheduling conflict forced us to cancel, we thought we'd never get away this summer. And of course our expectations for accommodations tend to be high. Secured a last minute booking at Birchwood and was not disappointed. We stayed in a premier suite - suitable for a couple, or family of 3-- with a kitchenette, king bed, living area. Balcony is enormous so it feels like you have an extra room. Impeccably clean, which is more important to us than luxury. That said, also very comfortable, with simple but pleasant appointments. Very quiet -- even though we were on the pool level and had families on either side, we never heard a sound. Bicycles available to guests. Can walk into town (down hill and then back up). Perfect location for exploring all of Door as it is right between 42 & 57. We did not do the breakfast, instead bought fresh bakery products at the farmers' markets.

Room Tip: Room on the front face the highway, while rooms at the back overlook pool and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_56_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Sister Bay and the Birchwood Lodge. We loved Sister Bay but from the brochure and the prices we were expecting a little less "cheesy" property. One of the reviews described it as cozy and homey - that would be accurate, definitely not as luxurious as the pictures led us to believe. Our "premier suite" consisted of a fireplace, large Jacuzzi tub, living room area and fully equipped kitchenette...while this was all very convenient, it was more than we needed for a one night stay. Our patio faced the parking lot and highway, so there was no view and the railing was very worn and heavily rusted, the bathroom amenities were very cheap and there was some sort of hair stuck to the wall by the towels. Overall, all of the room "accessories" could use upgrading. Others have mentioned the breakfast, or lack thereof, so don't plan on it -- good advice to go out to one of the local establishments. However, there were some nice things about the hotel such as the front desk staff which were both very friendly and helpful, the pool area is great with both an indoor and an outdoor pool and they offer complimentary bicycles and tennis (which we would definitely use on a longer stay). The location is also very convenient, walking distance to the downtown area and marina.
If you can get a good deal, like during off-season, it would definitely make it a bit more appealing to stay here. I would try it again for more than a one night stay and a lower price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
163 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Property: Birchwood Lodge
Address: 10571 State Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9085
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing