We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, But Would Try it Again”
Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Great, But Would Try it Again”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first trip to Sister Bay and the Birchwood Lodge. We loved Sister Bay but from the brochure and the prices we were expecting a little less "cheesy" property. One of the reviews described it as cozy and homey - that would be accurate, definitely not as luxurious as the pictures led us to believe. Our "premier suite" consisted of a fireplace, large Jacuzzi tub, living room area and fully equipped kitchenette...while this was all very convenient, it was more than we needed for a one night stay. Our patio faced the parking lot and highway, so there was no view and the railing was very worn and heavily rusted, the bathroom amenities were very cheap and there was some sort of hair stuck to the wall by the towels. Overall, all of the room "accessories" could use upgrading. Others have mentioned the breakfast, or lack thereof, so don't plan on it -- good advice to go out to one of the local establishments. However, there were some nice things about the hotel such as the front desk staff which were both very friendly and helpful, the pool area is great with both an indoor and an outdoor pool and they offer complimentary bicycles and tennis (which we would definitely use on a longer stay). The location is also very convenient, walking distance to the downtown area and marina.
If you can get a good deal, like during off-season, it would definitely make it a bit more appealing to stay here. I would try it again for more than a one night stay and a lower price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have frequently stayed at the Birchwood Lodge. We have stayed in many different types of places in Door County including house rental, hotel, resort etc. We continue to come back to the Birchwood for its many amenities and vaious accomocation options ranging from studio type to the ranch condo options. We love both the indoor and outdoor pools (outdoor pool is heated) and tennis courts. We have gotten to know the staff and they are the best at making you have the most enjoyable vacation. We will be back again in August for a final summer getaway.

Room Tip: The free standing ranch condo's are our favorite option as it is very roomy with washer/dryer in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peglarryethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Every year my family and I come to door county and always stay at the Birchwood Lodge. In the past, we've stayed at other hotels and this is by far the best. The hotel is a cozy, homey, place. It is always so comforting and welcoming. As much as I love the hotel, the breakfast isn't great. However there are so many wonderful breakfast spots in Door County that eating at the hotel is a shame. I highly recommend Summer Kitchen :). Though the TV's are small, they are more than adequate after a long day of Door County fun. My kids love both the indoor and outdoor pools. It is a 2 minute walk to Sister Bay Bowl and the downtown is right around the corner. Each year we have tried a different room option and I am proud to say I loved all of them. This year we will be trying the Village Homes and can't wait to enjoy Door County.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Top floor is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Love staying at the Birchwood Lodge. We always book the same suite, 315. It is a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, outside porch, view of the bay, double fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and the most amazing wonderful shower ever! 3 shower heads, beautiful tile and just a wonderful place to relax. We book this suite at the Birchwood every time we visit Door County. Aside from the room, the place is very clean and the pools are very nice. Can't wait to return for our winter getaway.

Room Tip: Corner Suite 315 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband, 13 year old son and I stayed at Birchwood Lodge last week. We travel to Door County many times a year. First time at Birchwood. We stayed in a Studio Suite, as all of their other rooms were booked. Our room was very clean. For being a small studio space, Birchwood desined the studios very creatively - didn't feel "cramped". We enjoyed being on the first floor, with easy access to the grass lawn to play Frisbee. Excercise room, whirlpool, indoor and outdoor pook were great. Convenient location. The front desk staff were SUPER friendly, accommodating and helpful. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We liked being on the first floor ("road-side") for easy access to the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family stayed at the farmhouse for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The farmhouse is very comfortable. It accommodated the 10 of us very well. The furnishings are simple but nice. The bed we slept on was very hard and uncomfortable, but I think the other beds were more comfortable. The pools are very nice and the grounds are kept up very well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganKatura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed there again when we went to Sister Bay June 2, 2013. The bed room was very warm. Wished we had a fan. (They took it out). There was spider webs on the furniture on the balcony. My husband went down for the continental breakfast and came back up with bad creamer and mold on his bagel. The mattress needed to be replaced - we had back aches every morning! Never the less, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjrenb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollakR, General Manager at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear madam,

I am sorry you were disapointed with your recent stay. All of our mattresses have been replaced to a softer type based on our guests requests a year ago. Each unit is individually owned at the Birchwood Lodge and owners decide on decorations and contents of their units. We would be happy to relocate you to the unit with ceiling fan if it has been requested. I would like to thank your husband for bringing into our attention the issue with the mold in prepacked bagels that were delivered to us. We were not aware of this because the items are individually wrapped. As soon as your husband informed us we have removed them from the breakfast line and have contacted our vendor. I am sorry for all the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Roman Collak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
0.5 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
163 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Property: Birchwood Lodge
Address: 10571 State Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9085
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing