We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, rushed service”
Review of Chop

Chop
Reserve with OpenTable
Chop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: With an emphasis on classic American Steakhouse cuisine, CHOP is Door County's First Choice for great steak and seafood. CHOP is a great place to eat, combining an intriguing atmosphere with excellent, high-quality food and service.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, rushed service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was very good quality, not very interesting and we were really rushed. It wasn't just us, we watched it happen to people around us. It is a small place but that is no reason to push us out quickly. There was no time to relax or order a second glass of wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    111
    41
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

we had a fabulous steak and lobster dinner cooked to perfection. Even the salad was delicious.
We happened upon this little gem and thought we would make a reservation (a must) and try it.
It is quite hard to locate and probably not frequented by tourists happening upon it often, but worth searching for.
The restaurant is very small, but upscale décor and the owner and wait staff were very friendly.
We ate there on a Saturday night and they were so busy that we knew it must be very good. Not disappointed.
The prices are a bit steep, but worth the splurge!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant off the beaten path”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chop is located well off the normal tourist street in Sister Bay, so be sure to have directions to find it. There is no view. It seats about 26 inside, with some additional seating on its porch. It is a little small and a bit cramped inside, but the quality of food is compensation. Be sure to make reservations so you can sit inside. The porch seating is not appropriate for the quality of food - or the prices. Dinner for two with a glass of wine probably will run about $80 - $100.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't Disappoint!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been spending weekends in Door County for over 20 years and this is the best dinner we've ever had! The restaurant is very small and quaint and may even be hard to locate if you're not familiar with the area, however the staff was very friendly and you could tell by their conversations that many of the customers were loyal fans. I can see why! We both got the filet and it was cooked to perfection. Even our salads were amazing! The price was very fair and what you would expect for a great steak dinner. We'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJtraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“First time at Chop!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to Chop with my sister and parents for the first time tonight and it was outstanding! Popovers with honey butter were brought to us right when we sat down and the salads and soup, (which was crab bisque) came quickly. My sister ordered the swordfish and she said it was very fresh and melted in her mouth. I had the New York Strip with blue cheese butter on top and it was probably one of the best steaks I've ever tasted. We finished off the meal with the pecan gelato. Overall, the food was enjoyed by all and the service was top notch. I will be bringing my boyfriend here soon!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing