We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable sail!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sail Door County

Sail Door County
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable sail!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Beautiful sail even though we had a little rain. Friendly staff is happy to share their sailing experiences. As always, weather is so dependent when you're on the water; it was too calm for us to sail, but dampened with rain. Staff was very knowledgable in keeping us from heavy rain and views were still lovely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    21
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a must-do when visiting the Door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've been visiting Door County annually for a few years now, and after a while it's hard to find new things to do. The primary thing to do is relax, but you do want to try something different every so often. So we signed up for a 2 hour ride on the 60 ft schooner on a whim, and are glad we did. At $45, not cheap but not expensive compared to other boat trips I've taken, and well worth the money. An absolutely relaxing ride in a lovely setting. The crew answered all questions and one even played fiddle (and took requests) after we got out in the open waters. You are allowed to bring any food and beverage along that you can carry, and can easily sit apart and tune out the conversation or join in with other guests. The sunset sail seem to book up, but our 4pm sail was in perfect weather without overhead sun and is highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful time on our first sailboat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first time ever sailing and it was very enjoyable. The sunset was gorgeous and we will definitely do this again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take a sailing tour today!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The two of us took a sunset cruise with Sail Door County and the comment we made to each other after we walked off the ship was "we will definitely do this again"! The captain and crew were very friendly and informative. We sailed on the Edith M. Becker which has some history to it, and the captain explained to us how the ship has been around the world more than once.

We had a medium wind to take us out for the sunset cruise and it gave us a very enjoyable ride, with the crew showing what the sail positions do. As with many of the Door County activities, we met some very nice fellow travelers and it made the time pass all too quickly. Make sure you take some refreshments with you and even a little something to snack on. Nothing is served on the boat but you can bring whatever you wish to eat and drink, but my advice is keep it simple. Maybe some wine and a few crackers and cheese, but don't get too elaborate, since you don't have a lot of room to spread out. There is a bathroom on board, but you have to go down a ladder/steps below deck so just be forewarned.

If you are in Door County, make sure you do one of these cruises! You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CameraDude29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Like Sailing With Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I took in a sail with Sail Door County and had a great time! "Captain Matt" and the rest of the "crew" had us feeling like we were sailing with friends. We sailed in light breeses, so our sail didn't cover a lot of ground, but we had a great "quality" sail versus "quantity."
Yes, the sailboat we sailed is a working boat and not in pristine condition, but safe and secure where it counts - we know as we're sailors ourselves. The best review I can provide is to tell you that we WILL be going back to Door County and WILL sail again with Sail Door Country and these fine folks! We have even volunteered to crew on their latest addition to the fleet - the Schooner Edith M. Becker!!! We WILL be calling when we visit again.
Make sure to check the weather for when you are planning to sail. We don't want to go sailing n crummy weather and they won't go sailing in severe weather. Wear comfortable clothes, take a jacket even if it's warm on shore and pack some snacks and drinks. Finally, wear comfortable non-marking soled shoes (like boat shoes) - walking shoes with white or natural soles are great..

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LHogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Door County also viewed

 

Been to Sail Door County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing