We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food..however, needs to manage fly control”
Review of The Inn at Kristofer's - CLOSED

The Inn at Kristofer's
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food..however, needs to manage fly control”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a lovely dinner of Roasted Duck with wild rice as well as Lobster and Shrimp with Mushroom Risotto...the cold soup of avocado/cucumber puree with Coconut Milk and a dash of curry and lime juice topped with roasted coconut flakes was heavenly...definitely a 5 star menu selection...however, we encountered 4 flies that were determined to enjoy our dinner as well...as soon as the entree was served, they hovered around us like busy bees...my husband managed to kill one with his own hand and he tried to get rid of the 2nd fly, but to no avail...we have to enlist the help of the wait staff to bring us the fly swatter and we succeeded in swatting the 2nd fly...we think that words around the fly world and we were able to enjoy our dessert in peace...we were seated indoor and don't know how management should handle this situation...maybe the manager should come over and apologize for the disturbance by the fly...but none came even though the wait staff was chuckling when my husband asked for and got the swatter...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLBCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    31
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

nice sunset water view, with great food and service

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riverwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific food and impeccable service”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our meal on July 14th was absolutely the best restaurant meal we have ever had! This restaurant was recommended to us the previous year by our lodging hosts in Ephraim. We ate their in 2010 for our anniversary and just had to go back! Each time we visited we made a reservation a few days ahead and were pleased to be seated at the window area that looked across to the marina and Lake Michigan. Their menu can be found on their internet site. We had a sublime avocado/curry/lime/coconut milk cold soup and halibut served on a delicate bed of mashed sweet potatoes. Our waiter helped us with our wine selection and it was a perfect accompaniment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOtto62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An elegant meal at a classy restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I had dinner at the Inn at Kristofer's to celebrate my 70th birthday. The service was friendly and impeccable. The food was great and elegantly served so that the feast was for both eyes and stomach. And the view of Green Bay as the sun set on a clear, lovely July evening was about as romantic as nature can offer. Kristofer's occupies prime real estate for water views and rewards nearly all its diners with at least some window access. Their choice in background music perfectly fits the ambience and gracefulness of the restaurant itself.

My wife and I had visited Kristofer's previously in 2002. I am happy to report that it was as excellent as ever. On this particular occasion, the restaurant also graciously provided a few exquisite chocolates to acknowledge the birthday.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunnily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
198 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Regional cuisine with a fantastic view”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

First we book our accommodations in Door County, then we immediately secure a table at this refreshing dining room overlooking the spectacular harbor on Green Bay. The food is always fresh, regional and tastefully presented. The service is professional and friendly. We love the baked brie to start while we enjoy a nice selection from their well priced wine list. The whitefish is just out of the lake fresh and the beef selections are always perfectly prepared. The French press coffee service to end the beautiful meal is a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank martinlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Kristofer's also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing