We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same old Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Siren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at the lodge this past week for a memorial service. It's been about 8 years since I last stayed here and I can honestly say nothing has changed. The lodge is very nice but its a bit dated. It has nice decor, but the curtains in the room were full of moth holes, and the fake laminate wood on the bathroom door was peeling off. This isn't a big deal and can be over looked but I was very disappointed in the prepackaged continental breakfast. The breakfast was a carb over load with pre-packed low quality waffles, muffins, bread and english muffins. Coffee with powdered creamer and apples were also served. My in-laws stayed at the Best Western Lodge down the road and said there stay and breakfast was much better. I guess for the price I paid, I felt disappointed. The front desk did help us out as I did have the need for a lighter and bottle opener.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntwkstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Sadly this is my 3rd and final stay at this hotel. I like the hotel, it's very clean and reasonably priced.. Sadly as a single parent who likes to travel with a 6 year old daughter I do not find it in any way amusing watching or hearing groups of unsupervised children use the hotel hallways as a playground until 11 pm at night. This hotel has no soundproofing at all and from the hours of 9pm to 10.30 pm my daughter was to ridged with fear to even sleep.. It's like a war zone at night. Calls to the front desk do nothing to curb the constant mayhem. If extreme noise doesn't bother you then this is a nice location and property.. Don't plan on sleeping a wink until after midnight if you do stay. I won't be back!!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Appin_Alba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at The Lodge at Crooked Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

I am sorry to hear that your recent visit was not up to standard. During your stay we did have multiple youth groups with us. We assign all of these groups a complimentary meeting room so that they have a central spot to all gather. We do this to hopefully minimize the noise in hallways, rooms etc...

I did discuss this with the front desk staff and they assured me they did talk with all parties involved and let them know noise levels needed to be reduced and lack of supervision will not be tolerated.

Once again, I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as you expected. I know you said you would not be back, but hope that you would reconsider in the future. Please contact me personally if you have anything further you would like to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently had our wedding reception at The Lodge. The entire experience with The Lodge was fantastic! From the reception planning to the lodging, everything far exceeded our expectations.

The hard-working staff made things so easy on us during the stressful wedding planning process. Steve and Amanda are beyond great to work with!t

My parents stayed at The Lodge the week before the wedding, and were greeted with open arms. They felt so welcomed!

Not only did we have a great experience with our wedding reception, but the hotel in general is wonderful. The rooms are clean, and the decor is so cozy. Many of our guests commented on how impressed they were with The Lodge.

We cannot say enough good things about The Lodge! We would not hesitate to recommend them for lodging and/or special events.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kmarie399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylodge143, General Manager at The Lodge at Crooked Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience at The Lodge at Crooked Lake. It sounds like we were able to take some of the worries away on your busy day and we pride ourselves on hosting wonderful wedding receptions! It was a pleasure working with you as well. Congratulations once again and all the best in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at The Lodge for about 4 to 5 yrs now and have never had any complaints. We have had bonfires in the "back yard" and have always ate at The Adventures. The rooms with the 2 Queens and a pull out sofa are huge for 5 people. The Room with the 2 queens and the extra room is huge as well. There is an elevator for the one review that said that there is no elevator. I don't understand the complaints. The breakfast is "deluxe" continental breakfast offering waffles and bagels, etc. Great for kids and adults that do not expect the big deluxe meal if you want that go to The Adventures. We have always hit up the Mini-Golf course as well. A lot of fun with in walking distance. Our kids love it. There is a small room for the adults to gather and plan the next days events as well with out having to reserve a meeting area and play a quick game of cards. The staff is great and the gift shop has some great shirts/sweatshirts. We will definitely be back.
Thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms with the 2 Queens and a pull out sofa are huge for 5 people. The Room with the 2 queens an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honey3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylodge143, General Manager at The Lodge at Crooked Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay again at The Lodge at Crooked Lake in Siren WI. It is great to hear from a repeat guest that everything met expectations! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We made The Lodge at Crooked Lake out stop for our annual fall motorcycle ride. Aside from the great amenities, the cozy rooms and the authentic feel of the hotel; the staff was amazing and went over and above to make our stay memorable.

Our weekend was a very busy one for The Lodge with a large wedding party. Each member of the staff found a way to make our group of bikers feel comfortable and very much welcomed.

We all would like to thank the hotel for everything and we all highly recommend this location for your next getaway. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylodge143, General Manager at The Lodge at Crooked Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Great to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at The Lodge at Crooked Lake. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our property and employees that strive to create a first class guest experience.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here in August while in the area for business. From the lamp shades with bear/pine tree/moose cutouts, to the timber chairs, table, luggage rack, and headboards, to the knotty pine furniture, the smallest details were not overlooked. This charming and woodsman like lodge is warm and inviting. The decor is rustic and makes you feel like you are miles away from the world on a peaceful lake, yet my room was equipped with the latest TV and plenty of electrical outlets easily accessible for computer and devices. Wireless was very reliable. There are lots of great communal areas to gather with friends or family and just relax. Each room has it's own name after a northern woods animal and is titled a "cabin". This is not your typical hotel with a couple of trinkets scattered about claiming to be a "lodge" this is a real northern lodge, complete with gift shop, restaurant and general store/shops within walking distance. I had the good fortune of meeting one of the contractors who helped build the lodge. He stated it is "all wood". Truly made of wood from top to bottom. The rooms are spacious, impeccably clean and very quite and very functional. The staff was very helpful. I arrived very late and was greeted by a friendly clerk and checked in quickly. Due to business conference calls and web meetings, I requested a very late checkout and the staff/management was extremely accommodating. My room faced the lodge property. I had a beautiful view of the surrounding greenery, wooden lounge chairs and a swing. The room was an incredible value as well. A five star experience at a three star price.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lodge property (back yard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelteach92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylodge143, General Manager at The Lodge at Crooked Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge at Crooked Lake while you were in Siren WI. We are always striving to make our guest(s) experience enjoyable and relaxing. I hope you also enjoyed our new 40" flat screens equipped with the DirecTV DRE system, which gives each guest over 100 HD channels.

I hope the next time you are in Siren, The Lodge can once again be your home away from home for the night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Lodge at Crooked Lake has a great deal of Northwoods charm, a very nice pool, and comfortable common spaces. The workout room has a 4 station machine, a treadmill (though the area around the Lodge is very pretty, so you'll want to run outside), and a stair machine. I found the beds to be comfortable and the room quiet. The only negative about the room is that you could tell that it used to be a smoking room (or someone had recently smoked in it - not bad, but enough to let you know it was there). The rooms do need some updating, but overall, everything was very comfortable. I also got Starbucks coffee in the room, so that was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckopczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siren
0.8 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
23.8 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
24.6 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Luck Country Inn
Luck Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Luck
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lilac Village Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Crooked Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Crooked Lake

Address: 24271 State Road 35, P.O. Box 606, Siren, WI 54872-8014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Siren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Siren
Price Range: $93 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Crooked Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience The Lodge at Crooked Lake for a unique and memorable experience in Siren, Wisconsin. You'll truly enjoy continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi/DSL, sauna, pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Crooked Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Crooked Lake Hotel Siren
Hotel At Crooked Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing