We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a complete train wreck!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Siren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2010

No focus on service whatsoever!! In fact, NEVER in my life have I experienced worse customer service!

Recommend to a friend???? I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Stay at "The Lodge," drive to Grantsburg, drive to Hayward... Don't stay here. You WILL regret it!!!

Looks pretty from the curb, but beware!!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank r2d3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

The RUDEST people work at this hotel!! The management team (owners) have zero interest in providing good customer service. I am generally reasonable and patient when it comes to dealing with businesses, but these people took it to a new level.
We were double billed for our room and have still not received a refund. What started as a small inconvenience that could have been easily resolved has turned into a giant hassle. The manager is rude and apparently willing to do anything to avoid refunding $108 including accusing us of lying. Unbelievable. I will never, ever, ever, stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We were given a key card to a room which was already occupied and not cleaned from the previous guest. Unexcusable and embarrassing. Staff did correct the problem with waiving one of two nights stay, but did not take ownership of the issue like they should have. One of two waffle irons in breakfast area out of order as well. Would NOT recommend.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank elkriverdepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This motel was great all around. The location is central to a number of attractions in the area. The price during the week was excellent, and the rooms and service were excellent. The staff was very helpful. I would come and stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I've stayed at the Best Western Northwoods Lodge at least four times. Each stay has been great. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is very accommodating. My daughter loves the huge pool and the sauna is a nice touch as well. Free high speed internet is a huge plus too. We enjoy the continental breakfast with make your own waffles, it also includes oatmeal packets, hard boiled eggs, and more.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlarmzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Nice looking place. Convenient location at highway intersection. Nice steakhouse across the road.

However, the hotel is a bit old. The rooms are clean and nice, but the walls are not thicker than a sheet of paper. I could hear -- literally -- every cough and sneeze of the person in the next room. The construction guys staying in the hotel that night were out late, and even though they weren't overly loud, I could hear every word they said in the hall and next door. And I am a fairly sound sleeper.

The breakfast was mediocre at best.

The hotel's phone system was iffy at best. The staff threw up their hands when calls couldn't get through. Not much help, but they were pleasant.

There aren't a ton of options in the area, so this might be the best despite its problems.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MadTownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed at this motel with my husband and three daughters. The motel staff went above and beyond to make our stay a great one. My kids were even given cute little eagle keychains as souveniers. The rooms were really clean and comfortable - like little log cabins. The breakfast is great and the free high speed internet access is very helpful.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank BusyMomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siren
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Crooked Lake
23.9 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
22.2 mi away
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Cumberland Inn & Suites
Cumberland Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Cumberland
72 reviews
15.4 mi away
Grantsburg Inn
Grantsburg Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsburg
18 reviews
14.6 mi away
Luck Country Inn
Luck Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Luck
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northwoods Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northwoods Lodge

Address: 23986 State Road 35, Intersection Highways 70/35, County Road B, P.O. Box 49, Siren, WI 54872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Siren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Siren
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northwoods Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Northwoods Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northwoods Hotel Siren
Best Western Siren
Siren Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing