We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent Quality/Service”
Review of William Ho's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
William Ho's
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Shorewood
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Shorewood, Wisconsin
1 review
“Inconsistent Quality/Service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have ordered takeout two times from William Ho's. The first time we ordered sweet & sour shrimp, orange chicken and egg rolls. The sweet and sour shrimp was fantastic, the egg rolls were huge, but the orange chicken seemed over cooked and tasted like balls of batter with barely any chicken. But we loved the shrimp, so the second time, we ordered the sweet & sour shrimp and the szechuan chicken. The shrimp were so over-cooked they were not even edible. Some of the fried shrimps were black - they never even should have been delivered to a customer. The szechuan chicken had barely any chicken in it. It was 99% veggies with a gloppy sauce.
We are still on the search for a great Chinese restaurant on the east side.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelmac4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chinese”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Best chinese on the East Side. Our favorite is there sweet and sour chicken.

Helpful?
Thank AngelaMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“had the take out!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I got the take out and my husband and I eat the same thing every time we go to any chinese restaurant. It was not the best for the price and the sauce on the shrimp broccoli was way too thick for my taste but it was not the worst I ever had.But the chicken was good enough. It wont be my regular take out place though.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unforgivably bad"”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you're old enough to remember the 50's and 60's, you'll remember those horrible, bad, awful Chinese restaurants where every dish was composed of a few sad, over cooked vegetables and lots of gloppy, thick, overly sweet & salty sauce. Close your eyes and every dish tastes the same. Hunan? That's a gloppy brown sauce with a slight hint of garlic powder. Szechwan? Gloppy red sauce with the tiniest bite of red pepper.

I'll stick with Nick at Night for nostalgia. Next time I'm in Milwaukee I'll find somewhere else to eat. Suggest you do as well.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LolaCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
“foodborne illness from buffet”
Reviewed November 26, 2008

I used to feel that this is one of the greatest choices of Chinese food in Milwaukee. I used to eat there a lot especially for the buffet--they have many options. However, one day I ate there for the buffet and I ate their egg roll. It looked like they re-fried the egg roll so that it's not fresh anymore. Later on that day, I was hospitalized due to food borne illness and I know it came from the egg roll I ate earlier. I never eat there anymore after that. I also heard from some other people that they also got food borne illness after eating the lunch buffet. I really don't recommend this restaurant although it used to be one of my favorites.

Helpful?
Thank hunibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Ho's also viewed

 

Been to William Ho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing