We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Lake
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Paul the manager is great went above and beyond. Rooms clean what more can you ask for!!
Great location. Kids had fun a nice pool, good breakfast and a nice little hotel bar and of course Becky's right accross the street.

Room Tip: what every place should be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Badger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    8
    11
    42
See reviews for
55
16
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and stay at the America's Best Inn & Suites about four to eight times a year. The rooms are clean, and we enjoy the amenities.

However, what really is special is how well we are always treated. Paul, the manager, goes above and beyond expectations at every opportunity. For example, on our last visit he helped me load my broken snowmobile onto a trailer--and I did not even ask for help. My friends and family have stayed there and everyone loved it. Their kids love the clean, fun pool. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had our annual New Years Eve family gathering at this hotel this year. From the moment we walked through the door, the new managers were super friendly and accommodating. We were greeted with smiles and treated like family. The kids ranging in ages from 8 to 13 spent hours in the pool and never got bored. We rented the hospitality room so that our group would have a gathering place and the managers made sure that we had everything we needed to have a good time. The rooms were clean and we loved the atmosphere in the lobby with the decor, furniture and bar area with the fireplace. We had such a great time that we already booked our next new years gathering at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotdish3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have now stayed here at least three times and have never felt like we got value for our dollar on any of those stays, but it's the only game in town if you want to stay in Shell Lake. You can pay about the same or less and find better if you go north to Spooner, but if you're visiting in Shell Lake it will add 8-10 miles of commuting daily.
Rooms here are reminiscent of AmericInn locations, right down to the carpet and tile in baths and these tend to be low cost alternatives.
We recently checked in late at night and got stuck with a couple of high priced rooms that weren't worth the price. They had balconies (who uses them in the winter?) facing the parking lot and the road (who would want to sit out there anytime?). Ours had an ashtray filled to overflowing with cigarette butts...cleaning doesn't seem to be a priority.
Room wasn't bad, pillows terrible...hot tub in the main room, switches didn't work, found out electrics were on the other side of the room...a little late when you're already in the tub. Room was very cold and even with heat turned up was cold the next morning.
We didn't try the breakfast area but choices seemed minimal and area was pretty small and uninteresting.
Pool area was fine on previous trips when children were younger, not used this time.
Understand that new managers are in charge now and working hard to upgrade so don't know how things will shake out, but if we had another choice...we would have taken it. Disappointing and overpriced.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here...ask for a room in the back of the hotel away from the lobby...it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazomanie,wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just spent a couple of days at America's Best Inn & Suites in Shell Lake. I was initially concerned about staying here after reading some of the earlier reviews because we have stayed in the area before and had one of our worst experiences there. This was however NOT the case here. The hotel is fairly new, outdoorsy décor, well kept, and clean. Management staff was very friendly and accommodating if we had questions or if they could help us in anyway, definitely one of their best assets! Rooms were fairly large, had a microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and wifi. We would not hesitate to come back. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the America's Best Hotel in Shell Lake. The country feel to the hotel makes you feel like cuddling up with a cup of coffee and a good book. The comfort of the hotel was only outdone by the staff. They were extremely welcoming and did everything in their power to make our stay was a success. The kids enjoyed the pool, the parents enjoyed the bar, and everyone enjoyed their stay. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is under new management and should easily be considered for your stay. My family and I had a great time and the management bent over backward to make sure our stay truly feel like we were in our home. Clean rooms, excellent service.

Room Tip: We were on the back side and had no problems with noise or breakfast smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Lake
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spooner Riverplace
19.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rice Lake
20.5 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 8 in Rice Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Northwoods Lodge
19.3 mi away
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
Curriers Lakeview Lodge
#3 of 8 in Rice Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake

Property: AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake
Address: 315 Highway 63 S, Shell Lake, WI 54871-7865 (Formerly America's Best Inn & Suites Shell Lake)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Shell Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmeriVu Inn and Suites - Shell Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn And Suites Shell Lake
America`s Best Inn & Suites Shell Lake Hotel Shell Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing