We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are there every week”

Twisted Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Food you love... with a Twist
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What can I say. We totally enjoy having a drink at the great bar. We love the food soooooo reasonably priced we love the wait staff and bartenders all make you feel welcome casual but a great area and atmosphere They never rush you like so many places do now days. I guess this is why we are there every week. Highly recommend. Melissa and al kohler wi

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love the location of the twisted root. Going there is like a little escape away from the city. The inside always feels warm and inviting with the fireplace, wood throughout and a unique murule painted on the wall. My favorite food that I have returned numerous times for is the portabella mushroom burger on focassa bread, portabella ravioli and pretty much any of the soups. The people there always are so nice, even though they are always busy and hussling they seem to be happy doing it :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jessey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband is not from around here and never really "got" what all the hoopla about Friday Night Fish Frys was about. Then we ate at the Twisted Root and he said they have the best Fish Fry he's ever had. We've had Fish Frys there three nights in two weeks. (They serve their Fish Frys every night so we don't even have to wait for Friday) After our first two visits we cam with 3 other couples and everyone had something different - Shrimp, Cod, Perch - everyone loved their meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Patti444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The view is spectacular, overlooking the river. We even saw a heron land! It was so cool! The food is awesome. I have been 3 times and my favorite is the vegetarian wrap-- delicious breaded mushrooms and advacados make it sooooo good! My husband loves the options for the burgers-- you can put ANYTHING on the burgers, but his favorite was the fried hot dog! And these are ReAL hot dogs...yum!
The kids drool over the chicken fingers. They are homemade and delish. I always try to steal a bite or two!
I am not a beer drinker but my husband thinks they have a very nice selection. It's not just Miller or Budweiser here...lots of good choices like Stone Cellar anf Three Sheeps.
I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had been wanting to try Twisted Root ever since we read an interesting story about it in the local newspaper. We had been warned by friends that there might be a long wait for a table. W called to make a reservation and were told that it was our 'lucky day." Normally they don't take reservations for parties of fewer than five, but they made one for us because we weren't arriving until 8:30. As it turns out, we didn't need a reservation and would have been luckier if we had not been able to get in.

We were very disappointed. The setting is great, but the layout of the dining room does not take advantage of the river view, and the decor is quite ordinary. It didn't take long to see that this was not going to be a fine dining experience. The first bad sign was the silverware wrapped in paper napkins. The next was the lack of a wine list. The coup de grâce was the fact that every entrée is served with your choice of mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, fries or sweet potato fries. We were expecting a little more imaginative sides for entrées that cost $18 to $30.

The only thing on the menu that you wouldn't find on a typical supper club menu was the smoked prime rib. We both had it and regretted the choice. It was cooked perfectly, but the flavors just didn't work.

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and the service was good. It is unfortunate that the new owners have decided to go with "safe and boring." We had hoped for more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Allan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwistedRoot, Owner at Twisted Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hi and thanks for your note on our restaurant and for coming in to check us out.

We are sorry that you found your experience to be less than what you were looking for. We would like to point out that we are not a fine dining restaurant. We are a casual/family friendly place, and by no means try and be upscale in our food, price, drinks or anything else. Our menu items range in price from 6.95 to 21.95, fresh meats and of choice or better grade. We offer featured sides otherwise yes our guests do get a choice of potato (we do not have mashed potatoes on our menu unless it is part of a dish). We also do have a wine list on the table.

Our menu is based on local favorites with a few things tossed in to be different. We write a new features menu every day with anything from sandwiches to salads, steaks to seafood and pastas. We also have a childrens menu with items like a kids chef salad, burgers, chicken, and sandwiches.

Our building is 110 years old, so while we wish we could provide more views of the river, it’s not possible. We have added as many windows as we could and also have the nice fire place room that adds a warming glow in the winter.

We are adding new things all the time so stop back in and check us out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing