We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twisted Restaurant & Bar

Twisted Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Food you love... with a Twist
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The view is spectacular, overlooking the river. We even saw a heron land! It was so cool! The food is awesome. I have been 3 times and my favorite is the vegetarian wrap-- delicious breaded mushrooms and advacados make it sooooo good! My husband loves the options for the burgers-- you can put ANYTHING on the burgers, but his favorite was the fried hot dog! And these are ReAL hot dogs...yum!
The kids drool over the chicken fingers. They are homemade and delish. I always try to steal a bite or two!
I am not a beer drinker but my husband thinks they have a very nice selection. It's not just Miller or Budweiser here...lots of good choices like Stone Cellar anf Three Sheeps.
I highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad....but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had been wanting to try Twisted Root ever since we read an interesting story about it in the local newspaper. We had been warned by friends that there might be a long wait for a table. W called to make a reservation and were told that it was our 'lucky day." Normally they don't take reservations for parties of fewer than five, but they made one for us because we weren't arriving until 8:30. As it turns out, we didn't need a reservation and would have been luckier if we had not been able to get in.

We were very disappointed. The setting is great, but the layout of the dining room does not take advantage of the river view, and the decor is quite ordinary. It didn't take long to see that this was not going to be a fine dining experience. The first bad sign was the silverware wrapped in paper napkins. The next was the lack of a wine list. The coup de grâce was the fact that every entrée is served with your choice of mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, fries or sweet potato fries. We were expecting a little more imaginative sides for entrées that cost $18 to $30.

The only thing on the menu that you wouldn't find on a typical supper club menu was the smoked prime rib. We both had it and regretted the choice. It was cooked perfectly, but the flavors just didn't work.

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and the service was good. It is unfortunate that the new owners have decided to go with "safe and boring." We had hoped for more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwistedRoot, Owner at Twisted Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi and thanks for your note on our restaurant and for coming in to check us out.

We are sorry that you found your experience to be less than what you were looking for. We would like to point out that we are not a fine dining restaurant. We are a casual/family friendly place, and by no means try and be upscale in our food, price, drinks or anything else. Our menu items range in price from 6.95 to 21.95, fresh meats and of choice or better grade. We offer featured sides otherwise yes our guests do get a choice of potato (we do not have mashed potatoes on our menu unless it is part of a dish). We also do have a wine list on the table.

Our menu is based on local favorites with a few things tossed in to be different. We write a new features menu every day with anything from sandwiches to salads, steaks to seafood and pastas. We also have a childrens menu with items like a kids chef salad, burgers, chicken, and sandwiches.

Our building is 110 years old, so while we wish we could provide more views of the river, it’s not possible. We have added as many windows as we could and also have the nice fire place room that adds a warming glow in the winter.

We are adding new things all the time so stop back in and check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We chose this restaurant due to the outdoor dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We love to eat outdoors in the summer and drove to Twisted Root for lunch. The outside dining is a work in progress, with promises of a grill to come. But the staff cheerfully waited on us and one other couple seated outside. The setting is delightful along the Sheboygan river.Inside there is a beautiful old oak bar. Everyone greeted us pleasantly and seemed eager to please. We are glad we found it.

.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bajoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This restaurant is in a beloved spot in Sheboygan County and could be wonderful. However, it is so noisy anywhere in the place. They advertized that they were excited to present new gourmet food to the area. However the night we were there we found the food to be ho-hum, nothing special. We were not given a printout of the specials for the evening - the waitress told us what there was. After we ordered, we saw her give a table next to us the "specials menu". As we left I looked at it and realized there were items on there we did not know about! Wine was pricey and the amount served was small. I also had lunch here one day and again it was so noisy. The lunch menu was nothing special.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank juniper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwistedRoot, Owner at Twisted Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi and thanks for the review. We noticed that you thought we were going to be a gourmet food restaurant... we are not. We are a casual/family place where we strive to provide good food at a good price. We offer items from 6.95 to 21.95 and have a features menu every day. Our feature list is found right on the table, so I am not sure what may have happened on the day you mentioned the server talking about them. Features can be anything from appetizers to salads, wraps, burgers, steaks or seafood… We also have smoked items and seasonal dishes.

We do have a wine list, and our alcohol beverages are priced the same as the local bars in town. Wine varies in price, but our house wine is very reasonably and quite delicious.

Our building is 110 years old and with the amount of business we do, it can be noisy. We have all hardwood floors, plaster walls and ceilings. We have investigated noise suppression ideas and have come up with a plan to suspend panels from the ceiling with hopes of reducing sound echos. We will be implementing sound suppression over the next few months so check back and see our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here twice. It used to be a different restaurant, one we never dined at before it became the Twisted Root. It is located along the river, which provides nice views if you get seated in the back area by the windows. There is an outdoor area, but I have not yet seen anyone dine out there; I've only seen smokers go out there. The decor is simple, slightly rustic. There isn't much for sound absorption though, so it can be kind of loud in the dining areas.
We like the menu. It isn't large, but there is a good selection of some entrees and sandwiches. I especially enjoyed the buffalo chicken sandwich.
We eat out once a week, and will keep this restaurant in our rotation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marytini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sheboygan Falls, WI
 
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Sheboygan Falls, WI
 

Been to Twisted Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing