We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good restaurant”
Review of The Duke Of Devon

The Duke Of Devon
Ranked #6 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Duke of Devon specializes in GastroPub cuisine, English Pub favorites and some Indian curries. All dishes are crafted with premium ingredients that are organic and locally sourced. The bar has an extensive bourbon section along with hard to find English beers and ciders.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“surprisingly good restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I eat here 2-3 times a year, whenever passing through Sheboygan. The menu is always exciting - I've had better Indian food here than I've found in Chicago! yesterday for lunch - an unbelieveably delicious lamb burger, local meat, bursting with flavor. Served with extra good pita and sauce and salad.

I love the unique, yet genuine british atmosphere, great decor and beer and wine list. Staff always seem happy to be at work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bblair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    68
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Duke of Devon never disappoints. Great selection of beer and the food is amazing. While everything on the menu is delicious, I always recommend whatever is on special. Yum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, great food, suitable for the whole family”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went for lunch on a Wednesday. I had the Princess Diana Tenderloin Salad. Mom had the potato soup. Brother had the fish, chips, and mushy peas. Son had the macaroni and cheese. Everyone cleaned their plates. Service was excellent. Place was clean. Definitely can endorse this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smillie-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really should be 1 1/2 stars”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If the waitress hadn't been very pleasant this would be a one star review. The food was simply atrotious. Ordered a salad for lunch which cost about $14-15. It had a variety of lettuces, mostly cut up romaine and two (!!!) shrimp and a pile of fatty, fried, burnt clam strips. Since I did not wish to wallow in the deep fat fryer, I neglected to have more than a brief taste of said clam strips. Atmosphere was shabby and not entirely clean. Can't believe it is associated with Trattoria Stefano which has marvelous food and atmosphere. Yuk.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“British food and fun!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Duke Of Devon had delicious British fare such as fish and chips and the Princess Diane Tenderloin salad. The service was excellent, and the atmosphere fun. There was British memorabilia all over the dark wood walls. The bar was beautiful, and the clean bathrooms had a touch of whimsy. Beware, you may even be speaking in an English accent by the time you leave!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vienna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke Of Devon also viewed

 

Been to The Duke Of Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing