We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it! We have visited many times over the years.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Michael Kohler Arts Center

John Michael Kohler Arts Center
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love it! We have visited many times over the years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place is a gem! You would never expect to find such a unique and avant garde museum in a small Wisconsin town. We visit at least twice a year to see each new exhibit. We have never been disappointed over the 8-10 times we have been there. They pull together an eclectic mix of modern art, in many different mediums. We always look forward to seeing what's new there. They often have exhibits from very eccentric self taught artists which are always unique.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmw-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    42
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This big girl had so much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a wonderful art museum. It is modern, airy, and spotless. My family and I visited during our vacation. The exhibits were so much fun. We saw the healing machine, awkward family photos, and more. My daughters and I decided to visit the hands on art room after the exhibits. We were able to decorate a very playful cardboard star with the help of two other children who wandered over to share in the creative energy. The five of us had a great time dabbling in each corner of our project. The bathrooms are so creative. They are artfully decorated and unique, especially the toilets and sinks! The entire museum, including the garden were alll works of art. The art shop was our last stop for a few unique treasures to take home. This museum is a must see for all creative beings, young and old.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LivetheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Art and Industry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I entered the exhibit space for the Paul Chiappe and Peggy Preheim collection, I thought the area was under rennovation for a new exhibit. I very nearly missed the tiny postage stamp sized pencil drawings on oversized white paper in white frames. The room looked empty, but when I stopped to look, I found that each piece held a minute drawing. Magnifying glasses revealed complete detail. Carol Prusa's "Optic Nerve" exhibit was another kind of miniaturized detail. Her ornate silverpoint drawings on acrylic domes are set off by fiber optic lights in subtle patterns. Other exhibits at the center displayed works by artists participating in the Kohler residency program where they learned industrial techniques for casting and ceramics. Artists also contributed to the fanciful toilets, sinks and wall tiles in all the restrooms. Be sure to knock and peek in all of them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OPINIONATEDGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Art Center for a city this size.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Frequent exhibit changes, unique building and galleries, excellent educational programs and theatrical and musical arts events. Don't miss the restrooms.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stupid place to visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Why even have a place like that looked at better things at the junk yard.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peacon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Michael Kohler Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to John Michael Kohler Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing