We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Resort on a Great Lake”
Review of Blue Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Grand Resort on a Great Lake”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our room was spacious and comfortable and the lake front view fantastic. This resort faces Lake Michigan, but the back of the resort faces the harbor (along with parking lot, street and some shopping areas) so even their 'city view' not bad. The staff was very friendly and the building and grounds clean and lovely. Small sandy beach, walking/biking trail and pier for fun and exercise with a fantastic view. We went off season, so not crowded, as we like it, and more affordable rates. Outdoor pool was still open, but water park closed midweek, which was too bad as hot tub inside it. The resort's location is close to shopping, restaurants and downtown Sheboygan so we had plenty to do. Wanted to take a trip to the Gulf, but was glad we stayed closer to home at Blue Harbor Resort!

Room Tip: Go with a lake facing room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    295
    100
    66
    29
See reviews for
578
115
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort on the shore of Lake Michigan. Upgraded to a lake view upon arrival. Waterpark is nice, not crowded, water is warm. Entertains kids 10 and under. Rooms are very clean. Enjoyed the campfire with s'mores. Would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddwz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went to Sheboygan for a business trip and to see the Packers play. Had been told to stay at the American Club, but the business paid for a stay at Blue Harbor. While not the fanciest or greatest, it was still very impressive. Probably would be great for kids. I know my boys would have loved the water park. The room was large and comfortable with an amazing view of the lake. Only ate breakfast two mornings at the hotel, and no other meals, but breakfast was very good and the service was very friendly. The chef at the buffet on Saturday morning was great - VERY NICE! Overall, a Blue Harbor was a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper MI
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow! I performed a wedding at this resort - first time visiting this property. I was so impressed with the location, service and property itself. I first arrived at one of the condos. Wonderful lakeside view with a balcony overlooking the beach and lake, bedroom and loft, full kitchen, gas fireplace....lovely decor. Boardwalks and sidewalk all along the shoreline....it's a short walk from the condos to the main building/lobby. We had a loft suite in the main hotel building which was delightful. Gas fireplace, balcony overlooking beach, lake and piers. Two queen beds, living room, another queen bed and bath upstairs in the loft. 3 flat screen tv's, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and room safe rounds it all off. Volleyball nets, mini golf and fire pit with chairs around it provide entertainment not to mention the awesome water park and huge slide! Loads and loads of shops and restaurants.....this is a beautiful resort. I would absolutely recommend this property and in fact my husband and I have it on our 'list' to return to - we just loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zengecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice, comfortable rooms. The water park was so much fun we spent more time than expected on the water slides. But the best part of Blue Harbor is the amazingly beautiful location! The beach and the view are absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I took an end of the summer trip here with my boys. My map-loving 11 year old pointed out that we had not ever visited the Midwest, so we decided to give it a try. It was surprising on many levels...mostly that this area of Wisconsin actually looked and felt like being in a tropical area! The property sits majestically on the edge of Lake Michigan and is very beautiful. Unfortunately, I felt that at times it was a bit TOO grand in terms of size. For that size, you expect more activities other than s'mores, waterpark, a pool, and Lake Michigan. At least the rooms were very nice for such an affordable resort. And I say affordable by Tri-state area standards. Honestly...it was a bargain. The food venues were all great, everything delicious and so reasonably priced for such a classy place. We ate in The Beacon a lot and even had our own very favorite waitress! (Michelle). I felt, though, after 3 days (we were there for 5) that it was enough and was wishing at the end that I had broken the long weekend into 2 smaller trips. It would enhance things greatly if they added some activities for adults...such as yoga or perhaps wine tasting. Or maybe a class on craft beers!!! (Fabulous, BTW in that area of our country!!) All in all, its a super nice family-friendly resort. We just wish there were more activities to keep us entertained.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking Lake Michigan are totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to Blue Harbor while we were staying at another hotel in Sheboygan, just to see what we might be missing. We were shown a loft suite & a family suite. Both were dark, rather drab rooms & they smelled of stale air. In one of them, there were red marks on the bathtub of what looked like red paint or nail polish-whatever, it should have been cleaned off. Also, the manager that was showing the rooms to us quickly snatched up a bikini top that had been left behind on the shower rod, saying by way of explanation, "Well, the cleaners only look at the floors". That didn't sit well with us, & we decided that we were better off where we were already staying. That all said, we were very impressed with the grounds & the public parts of the resort (we didn't see the water park). We dined two nights in a row at the bar, "On The Rocks", & enjoyed the food & view of the lake. The lakeshore path is wonderful to walk along, too. We certainly will go back to visit, just not to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheboygan
0.4 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
16.7 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor Resort

Property: Blue Harbor Resort
Address: 725 Blue Harbor Dr, Sheboygan, WI 53081-4982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sheboygan
#4 Business Hotel in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Harbor is the largest resort on Lake Michigan. We are located in charming downtown Sheboygan. We have multiple restaurants, lounges, conference space, a spa and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor Sheboygan
Blue Harbor Hotel Sheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing