We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Reunion Week”
Review of Blue Harbor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Reunion Week”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family of about 100 has a week-long reunion every three years, and this year it was at the Blue Harbor Resort. Most of us stayed in the villas, two or four bedroom units, and some stayed in the main building. The management and staff were wonderful. The units while not new were clean and well provisioned, the housekeeping staff helpfu; at every turn. We had the benefit of good weather, and the location right on the shore of Lake Michigan and the Sheboygan River was great. There was plenty of room, places for our gatherings, and activities for the kids and adults alike. This was our 10th reunion, and this location may have been the best of all, though we have had great times at resorts in Colorado every other time--we alternate west and east.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    309
    106
    71
    32
See reviews for
618
121
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

After some changes to plans for a family reunion, my suggestion of the Blue Harbor did not disappoint! We had multiple Vilas that housed almost 70 of us! They were comfortable and clean. If there were things missing(mostly kitchen items), all it took was a phone call to the front desk and we got them right away.
The water park was perfect sized for all ages! Our youngest was a 4-year-old...and our oldest was a 69-year-old. Great fun by all!
There was nightly s'mores at the fire pit near the beach.
Shops were close by. As was an ice cream parlor...a bar...mini-golf.
The only gap I saw was the inconsistency in daily housekeeping visits to the Vilas. We saw someone everyday...some in our group saw theirs only twice the entire week.
Beside that...I would go back.
Thanks to the staff and locals! It was worth it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We were looking to get away with our 4 children (2-8 yrs old) and thought this looked so beautiful, family friendly and fun. But we were wrong. We cut our vacation short because it was not worth the money. The website is beautiful and shows clean rooms and nice landscaping. But the rooms are out dated, the kitchen cabinets have no handles, and for $450+ a night for the 2 bedroom villas they cannot even provide soap for the clothes washing machine. All the landscaping was so over grown that you could not find the railings going down that big staircase. And we could not see the water from our lake view room because of the bushes in front of our deck. My kids loved the waterpark but it was pretty disgusting. Do they ever power wash or clean the dirty, moldy walkways and steps? It's a waterpark, they should be constantly cleaning. The waterpark staff /life guards were always really good. Always watching out for the kids rather than talking to their friends. We never got to enjoy the marshmallow roasting. One night it rained but the next night they prematurely cancelled it. It was a gorgeous night and there was no signage that it was cancelled. Storytime was a joke. Staff did not know where to send us and when we found it, no "welcome" "storytime will be held in that room", etc., she read the two books so quickly and just wanted to sell us the $3-6 tattoos. We were out of there in 7 minutes. No cookies and milk for the kids like Timber Ridge. Two more things... The putt putt grounds had 2 broken putters with one golf ball. My 2 year old was walking around with a spear since the putter head was missing. And the outdoor pool...due to weather we were finally able to enjoy the outdoor pool our 2nd day. When we got in at 12 noon they had not even cleaned it. My 2yr old was playing by the steps where most of the leaves and dead bugs formed. I asked the lifeguard if she had a net so I could clean it. Someone came by 20 minutes later and finally cleaned it. They opened it at 9 but did not clean it until 12:30pm. Come on! Really?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoGirlReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The resort and view of Lake Michigan was beautiful. We had a lake view family suite for two adults and three teenagers. Room worked great for all of us. Loved the large counter with the mini fridge and microwave. We stayed 3 nights and it was about the right amount of time for the kids to keep busy. The waterpark, pool and beach were their favorite spots, my favorite spot was the chairs outside overlooking the lake. The resort and room was clean and the housekeepers as well as the staff members around the resort were nice and helpful. Restaurants had wonderful food and good prices, casual dress for all restaurants on site so don't forget about the Latitude Restaurant if you decide to visit the Resort and if you are there to truly relax schedule in some time to take advantage of the beautiful Spa!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMKKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I visited Sheboygan today as part of our week-long visit to Milwaukee. My mother-in-law wanted to visit Blue Harbor Resort because of the beautiful TV ads running promoting the property. So we (husband, 6-year old and his parents) drove up to visit and it is just as the ad promotes. After viewing the grounds, my mother-in-law wanted to see a room. I kindly requested to see a room from the front desk clerk, Trudy. She kindly told me that they had a full house the night before and wasn't sure if they had a room available to see. She then said she could show me a standard room but we would have to wait until a staff person wraps up a tour with another guest. As I patiently waited for nearly 30 minutes, I saw Trudy, Jess, and Adam provide full service to other customers, spending an average of 10 minutes with each of them. Granted they were checking out or had questions, but we were potential guests.
Twenty minutes into my wait, I asked Trudy again about seeing a room and she replied that the guy was wrapping up a tour and should be here "momentarily," and I asked did she think we would see a room soon, and her reply: "oh you will see a room today." After this, my family got up from the comfortable chairs and sofa and decided to leave. I guess my in-laws at their age, saw what was happening. I, on the other hand, wanted to please my mother. But, when I made eye contact with Trudy as we were at the door to exit, she didn't blink or even attempt to ask us to stay so she could accommodate our request. I got the message that we were not welcomed there; and to this very hour, I still refuse to believe that it is because we didn't look like the majority of guests there.
But there were no other obvious reasons, and I think this is not an unusual request. We have made it before. What is wrong with seeing first what you plan to buy? Blue Harbor missed out with us. We travel a great deal and probably fit very well into their economic demographic. Oh well. We enjoyed the water park immensely, save for my husband and a lifeguard’s misinterpretation of the rules for the tubes. We will come back to Sheboygan and rent a condo on another property. From Trudy, we surmised that Blue Harbor doesn’t want our business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Would you please contact me at info@blueharborresort.com so I can arrange to discuss this matter with you by phone? Thank you, David Sanderson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great indoor waterpark! Love the option of stepping outside on the beach. The beach was fairly clean minus a few dead fish and the water was clear and not murky. The rooms are very nice, we stayed in the loft and there was enough room for 3 adults, 1 teenager, and 2 toddlers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a family reunion and had a wonderful experience. Our family of 5 (kids 9, 8 & 6) stayed in a lake side 2- bedroom villa, and loved the magnificent views of the lake. The beach was clean, and it was easy to watch the kids in the relatively shallow water (no lifeguards). Campfires on the beach at night allowed more enjoyable outdoor time. The indoor water park was very fun, and not too crowded. The prices tend to be on the high side with everything from the spa (for the girls) to the concession stand in the water park. But the full kitchen in the villa allowed us to save money by having several meals in our room. There are several grocery stores within a 5- minute drive of the resort. Overall, we had a great experience, and will probably go back in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgg639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheboygan
0.4 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
288 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
244 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor Resort

Property: Blue Harbor Resort
Address: 725 Blue Harbor Dr, Sheboygan, WI 53081-4982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sheboygan
#4 Business Hotel in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Harbor is the largest resort on Lake Michigan. We are located in charming downtown Sheboygan. We have multiple restaurants, lounges, conference space, a spa and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor Sheboygan
Blue Harbor Hotel Sheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing