We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the beach here....”

Kohler-Andrae State Park
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular lakefront state park was established in the 1920s.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the beach here....”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had not been here before, but we'll be back. This is one of the prettier state parks we've looked at (we haven't hit them all yet, though). The beach has a much wilder, natural feel, since it's right on Lake Michigan. There were a few people there but didn't feel crowded, plenty of space to sit and still have a lot of privacy. We didn't stay here but the camping spaces look lovely, all in beautiful wooded areas with plenty of shade, and spaced with a little privacy in mind, unlike some state parks. Would camp here in the future, it's just beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurora314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    58
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antigo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great camping experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family, ages 1-66, all enjoyed the beach, hikes, campground, Nature Center, etc. etc.
Ed Mindock's program for beginning rock collectors was great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our Precious Gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Living in Sheboygan County, we are so fortunate to have one of Wisconsin's best state parks in our own backyard. There is a Nature Center, beach, trails in the sand dunes, woodland trails and camping. We have camped here numerous times in both summer and fall. We have cross country skied here in the winter, and watched the park come back to life in the spring.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paxvobiscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Picnic Area, & Campground”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful area to cool off when it's warm, have a picnic, or go camping. Being a state park, you will have to either have a park sticker or buy a day pass to go to the beach or have a picnic, and pay a fee for camping, but it is well worth the investment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roelskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big experience”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So many things to do there-Sleep in a tepee, camp out, playground, swim in Lake Michigan, Eco friendly building(lots of learning experences) Outdoor seminars, sand dune walks(lighted)wildlife, kid friendly & super campsites. Best in camping!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bearhunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohler-Andrae State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kohler-Andrae State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing