We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading other TA reviews, it seemed like the best place to book for our one night in Sheboygan. We spent two days at the Kohler Dunes and were just looking for a place to sleep. That's the only way I would stay here again. Rooms are so tiny - especially the bathrooms. I thought the door was going to hit the toilet and then the tub when opening it. The restaurant that got such great reviews is no longer in operation. But 8th Street is loaded with places to eat and quirky shops and it is walking distance to the riverwalk area, which made a nice evening walk. All in all I suppose we got what we paid for. If you will be busy with other activities and literally just looking for a place to sleep, book here. But if you want to hang in your room for any length of time, I'd say go elsewhere. One positive note - the breakfast bar was nice in the morning, especially if you have hungry children with. Joy, the woman stocking and cleaning the breakfast spot was so very nice. The best employee we came in contact with. If you happen to be in that area on Saturday morning - check out the farmers market in Fountain Park - just north of the motel. It is the best!

Room Tip: This is a very old building once being the Grand Hotel. A very small building in general. I think mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htaylor75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    12
    7
    13
See reviews for
24
13
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

For the price, we got what we expected however the room and bathroom were too small for 4 people. The only major complaint was the breakfast bar not being stocked all 3 days we were there.
Did like the fact there was a restaurant in the hotel. The pizza is really good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDMarkus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and I recently spent two very enjoyable, relaxing nights here. It was a pleasant and affordable experience. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and eager to please. All areas of the hotel were very clean and quiet. The pool and hot tub was highly relaxing with perfect water temperatures. The breakfast bar offered a wide variety of fresh choices. The adjacent restaurant has amazing pizzas (the best I ever had) cold tap beer and enjoyable friendly staff. All this and location location location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here one night to go to a wedding in Sheboygan Falls. It is not fancy and a little dated, but the staff is super friendly, the beds and pillows are very comfortable, and it was very, very clean. We also stopped in for a drink later in the evening, and they were still serving food rather late. We ordered the Chicken Florentine pizza, and it was fantastic. They had a very nice little menu. I hear these are new owners and hope they are able to make it and then work on updating! I really did not have time to use or even look at the fitness center, which is the only reason I rated it average. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would avoid the room across from the elevator. Can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the hotel this weekend and found this to be a pleasant surprise. Although the building is dated they are trying very hard to make this a nice place to stay. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. If something did not work or was not right they made it right. The food in the restaurant was great. Service was excellent. I understand this hotel is re-opened under new management and I hope they make it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is under new ownership and you can tell they care. Clean, Friendly staff. Its far away from the exit highway , so no noise with bother you. Only about 3 blocks from the lake, easy walk, and within walking distance to local restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank HECPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is not a fancy lodging but it is extremely clean and comfortable. Has a wonderful whirlpool and soaking pool off of the Lobby area. Also a fitness room with the basics. What makes it really special is the excellent staff. They treat us like family - always friendy, courteous, helpful. They go out of their way to make this a home-away-from-home. There's also a restaurant with delicious food and very reasonably-priced drinks. Walking distance to the whole of downtown - theatre, shopping, Lake Michigan. We especially like the whirlpool suites for that resort feeling at a great price !!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and comfortable with a view of the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitties2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheboygan hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Sheboygan WI
Super 8 Sheboygan WI
#11 of 11 in Sheboygan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Sheboygan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sheboygan

Property: Econo Lodge Sheboygan
Address: 723 Center Avenue, Sheboygan, WI 53081 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Sheboygan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sheboygan 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Sheboygan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sheboygan
Sheboygan Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing