We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Orchard Farm Retreat
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sheboygan
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Sheboygan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Winds(Sheboygan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
86
6
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
6
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsleep number bedwhistling straitshole golf coursewhirlpool tubthe barnbed breakfastpool tableapple juicewonderful hostsegg bakenine holeget awayfarm fresh eggscork screwroad americatasteful decor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 96 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent Valentine's Day there. The hosts, Nate and Mary were wonderful! The facility it beautiful with 150+ years of history. Our room overlooked Lake Michigan. The bed (a sleep number bed) was comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best I have had.
Next time we will stay longer and take advantage of the walking trails nearby. The pool table in the common room looked nice (but I didn't have the time to play a game.)
The entire place is spotlessly clean. Our room (Helene's Room) did not have a fireplace, but it was still a wonderful room, with it's whirlpool tub for two.
We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own charm. The website does a good job describing each room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I have been there thrice and even brought our parents there. It is a working farm and they have a dog called Maggie, several cats, chickens and lots of heifers. We've stayed in all three rooms that are upstairs, whether they face the golf course or the lake.

Having been there in autumn and winter, which are both nice in their own way because of the different things you can do, I would say that visiting in October is best. You can try your hand at golf, drive around in the buggy (better still, you get Maggie to ride with you), pluck some apples and pears in their orchard, get a farm tour, enjoy an outdoor fireplace, all at no extra charge. By the way, they make their own delicious cider, which you get a taste of in breakfast. Cross the road and you can walk down some steep stairs to Lake Michigan and the B&B has some foldable chairs that you can use on the beach. In winter, you can use their snow shoes and go for walks around their woods.

For us, we were drawn back because of the spacious and tastefully furnished rooms and having Maggie and the cats to play with. This is quite a new building, so the amenities are all nice and new and modern, like having a large flat screen TV that can swivel. Very often, when you are outside the building, Maggie would come look for you and even lead you on walks in the woods or across the road down to Lake Michigan. Of course, you can choose to take up her offer for some company or choose otherwise.

Their breakfast comes in a huge portion and is usually quite good. You can always tell the innkeepers, Mary and Nate, of your preferences and they will keep them in mind. You have the option of having breakfast in your room or in the common area downstairs, where there is a pool table and some board games. Mary and Nate are great hosts and will try to accomodate your requests. Our only gripe is that all their beds are Queen sized, and that is really small and squeezy for two. Lake Orchard B&B is definitely worth you checking it out! They occasionally have promotions on Facebook or you could even try calling them to see if they have a special rate for returning guests.

Room Tip: Really doesn't matter which room you go for because there are only 4 in the main building and another one in a separate cottage. Noise is not an issue because it is really quiet there but if you are concerned, choose those upstairs. I would recommend those facing the golf course.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleenloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This wonderful B&B is not like any other you may have experienced. It is separate from the main house, which affords lots of privacy. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the hospitality is exceptional! Our room had a giant whirlpool tub, fireplace, sleep number bed, internet, dish network on a flat screen, and beautiful old antiques to make the farm feel old, even though the particular rooms are only three years old and felt/looked brand new. The bathroom featured top of the line Kohler fixtures, as well as other extra amenities. Nate and Mary (the owners) spared no expense in building this retreat and their hospitality was above and beyond- they even left us a small bottle of wine!
The building also has a reception area, as well as a breakfast table and bar with pool table. We elected to have a breakfast brought up to our room at no extra charge. The breakfast was homemade by the owners and was extremely delicious, hearty, and filling. My husband and I also received a 10% discount for staying 3 or more nights. We had a tour of the woods by Maggie the farm dog as we snowshoed through the freshly fallen snow (snowshoes provided by the farm staff). The farm sits right above Lake Michigan (with beach access) and the views are spectacular. Whistling Straights golf course is also only a mile south of Lake Orchard Farm and Sheboygan is a short 10 minutes away. If you are looking to stay at a place that is personal and yet allows you personal space for relaxation and romance, Lake Orchard Farm is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vienna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean, modern, comfortable rooms in a renovated farm building. This working farm has been in the family for over 100 years. The main B&B building was renovated about 3 years ago by a professional outfit, sparing no expense, and meeting all state codes. The young couple running it has put their lives into the B&B and running the farm, and it shows. Loved the dog and many cats wandering the grounds.
Usually, we don't go to the same place more than once, but we can't wait to go back in a different season.
If you find fault in going here, you may just be a miserable person.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonicbopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lake Orchard this past weekend and has a wonderful time. Nate and Mary have created a beautiful environment for a quiet weekend away. It was peaceful, relaxing, spotless, and private. We walked through the woods on the property, had breakfast in our room, met their dog Maggie, a sweetheart. Sheboygan and Kohler are a short drive away, with great restaurants, esp. Trattoria Stefano. We also explored Maywood Nature Center. Thank you for a wonderful stay...we hope to return someday, maybe with the kids to stay in the cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soup291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews