We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Relax in Peace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Orchard Farm Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheboygan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Orchard Farm Retreat
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Relax in Peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful weekend up at Lake Orchard Farm. We were looking for a place that would be very quiet and relaxing and Lake Orchard had everything we wanted. Nate and Mary were great and very accommodating. Nate told us all about the farm's history and showed us around the premises where we got to see the chickens, cows, and many cats. The guest house is very nice and clean with pictures, books, and other items that give you more of a background of the farm's history. The rooms are fantastic, and everything in the rooms and the rest of the guesthouse are all new, so it made for a very relaxing stay. We didn't play golf on the small golf course they had, but did walk around the course itself as well as the woods behind the farm, where there are marked hiking trails. The property is right across the road from Lake Michigan too, and there is a set of stairs nearby where you can walk down the bluff to the lake. Not so much a beach there, but there were millions of perfect skipping stones. For dinner both nights, we drove south to downtown Sheboygan (about a 15-minute drive) and found some nice places to eat along 8th street. In the morning, the Lake Orchard breakfasts were outstanding. We would go back for the breakfast itself! Overall, it was a fantastic stay. We were here just to find a relaxing place, but if you're up in the Sheboygan area for any reason, we'd highly recommend a night here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side face Lake Michigan, so if you're eating breakfast in your room, or si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrummerMan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked a weekend getaway at Lake Orchard and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at this fabulous Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in Helene's room. It and the entire B&B is decorated in a cozy, but up to date style (complete with a swivel flat screen tv and Kohler bathroom fixtures) fitting for its location on a real operating farm.

The linens - sheets, towels, even the cloth napkins used at breakfast were soft and luxurious. The spacious room and bathroom provided the perfect weekend respite. The small botle of champagne and chocolates near the tub were a lovely treat. They were that little something extra that made us feel special.

Breakfast was amazing and we had the option to have it brought to our room or to eat it in the main area of the B&B. The food was filing and so scrumptous!

Nate and Mary (the owners) were present and helpful, but not obtrusive in anyway (an experience I've had at some other B&Bs).

Lake Orchard's proximity to Lake Michigan allowed us to take a nice winter walk along the lake, but even if you don't want to venture that near to the water the views of the lake from the B&B are just as amazing as the B&B itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poss350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

This place was beyond amazing! Nate and Mary were fabulous people. The b&b is right by the lake. Delicious home cooked breakfast each morning. Romantic rooms. I would love to stay again! !!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Waking up and having a cup of coffee while looking at the sunrise over Lake Michigan is incredible! I cannot say enough good about this Bed & Breakfast. First, it is located on the shores of Lake Michigan, just 10 minutes north of Sheboygan and 3 minutes from Whistling Straits golf course.

The rooms are in a building which used to be a chicken hatchery. They tore part of the building off and completely rebuilt it. The craftsmanship is outstanding and the soundproofing superb. The B & B was full and we never heard noise from other rooms, amazing considering everyone at breakfast said they used their whirlpools. I never felt like I needed to be quiet, cause I knew outside the room no one could hear me!

All rooms have the tub, a nice bathroom with shower, balcony, sofa, LCD TV with Dish network service, refrigerator & gas wood stove. The room was among the cleanest I've ever seen. Not a speck of dust!

The breakfasts were really well planned and prepared. We had a Chicken Cordon bleu egg bake, baked apples w/ cinnamon and sugar, hash browns, pumpkin cake and homemade apple juice. The coffee was always ready at 7AM. The next day we had caramel french toast with cherries on top, baked potato wedges, fresh fruit and apple cake for dessert! Both meals were very tasty!

The grounds feature a firepit, private 9 hole golf course, walking trails and a path down to the Lake Michigan shoreline. You can drive into Sheboygan or Kohler for dinner, or try Rupps in Cleveland. It is only 5 minutes away and has good steak and seafood.

You will NOT regret the experience of this B & B. I already have a trip back planned in Spring!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Beautiful room, beautiful house and AWESOME hosts!! We cant wait to go back!! The history of the farm was pretty cool and the items from the family was a beautiful touch! There is nothing bad i can say, everything was perfect for our first stay at a B & B...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thehaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheboygan
9.1 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
11.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
8.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
15.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Orchard Farm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Orchard Farm Retreat

Property: Lake Orchard Farm Retreat
Address: W839 Lake Orchard Ct, Sheboygan, WI 53083-5125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our sixth generation farm is your perfect retreat. Our historical, picturesque setting will put your mind and body at ease. With opportunities for recreation on site and nearby, you can reconnect and recharge however you see fit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing