We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining At It's Best”
Review of Rupps Downtown

Rupps Downtown
Ranked #12 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fine Dining At It's Best”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Richard and Sandra Rupp (proprietors) have operated this restaurant for 25+ years. It's been voted #1 by local people countless times throughout it's history. If you are looking for excellent food ($15 - $30) this is the place. Their steaks are the best in town, and their shrimp is hand breaded (not frozen out of a box). If you enjoy liver, Rupp's has the best around, hands down. Any meal off the menu will surly satisfy! With a casual dress code, the atmosphere is relaxing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GarbageFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome as always”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

if you want fine dining while in Sheboygan….come here!!!! i am from Sheboygan and would eat here frequently. Now as as guest the food is even better then i remember!!!!! Thank you Richard for keeping your awesome restaurant delicious!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vipercupholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of Sheboygan's best!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rupps is the ultimate Sheboygan restaurant. It has a little bit of everything from a salad bar to lobster tail. My favorite is the steak sandwich and the Friday night fish fry. The atmosphere and staff are comfortable and friendly. Love the bar too! We always go early so we can sit and have a drink before our meal. If you're in downtown Sheboygan, be sure and eat a meal here. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Being from a large metro area, we are no strangers to supper clubs. We sometimes also design vacations around restaraunt destinations. Rupps came up in a search, so we rolled the dice, and hit the jackpot! Very friendly service, super fresh salad bar, and soups that were clearly home made, all on a weeknight. What really surprised us was the steak. Several times at other places we've noticed seasoning or tenderizing to compensate for sub-par meat, but not here. Top notch steak done PERFECTLY, didn't need a thing. Sides were nicely done as well. Visible kitchen was intriguing, and chefs were true professionals, running traditional equipment that so many supper clubs lack these days. We only live 80 miles from Rupps, but wouldn't hesitate to drive there again for dinner. We can only hope they will be there for years to come!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect steak”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Family who had visited before said to try Rupps. Old school "supper club". We were not disappointed. Loved the salad bar, the rolls, the waitress, the mixed drinks, and especially the absolutely perfectly cooked and seasoned steak. Outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupps Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Rupps Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing