We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rupps Downtown

Rupps Downtown
Ranked #9 of 160 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very good restaurant. The décor is outdated but it shouldn't matter much if the food is good. Great salad bar. Steaks are very good and the BBQ ribs were excellent. The service was very good as well. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family Party, cost not matching product.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I thought it was just average and there were things I didn't like about my meal. Wouldn't normally be a big deal but the cost was high for an average meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freedom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat for the steak, atmosphere and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't know where the "dated interior" reviews come from. Our experience was one of a step back in time to a grander era yet fresh, new and clean. You would not be surprised to see William Powell and Myrna Loy walk in at any minute.

1 1/2" thick NY Strips were tender and cooked to perfection. Service was great and personal.

Old Fashioned = bitters, whiskey(CC in my case) and 7UP with cherry and orange garnish, no muss no fuss just the real thing in all its perfection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigRedOneArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classy place, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rupps is one of our favorite spots in Sheboygan. The food is top notch; you can hardly miss when you choose from the menu. The salad bar is excellent too, recommended. It's also quiet, if you're looking for that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BFE26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average is correct”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food was good - but the value is not there. For what you pay, there are better places out there. You won't be disappointed with the food. Service was good also. Agreed with one of the previous reviews - the interior hasn't changed in forever. You'd think that since every asset in this place has been paid for 30 times over, they'd either give you more for your money or do some updating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john-54220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupps Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Rupps Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing