We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place, excellent food”
Review of Rupps Downtown

Rupps Downtown
Ranked #12 of 164 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classy place, excellent food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Rupps is one of our favorite spots in Sheboygan. The food is top notch; you can hardly miss when you choose from the menu. The salad bar is excellent too, recommended. It's also quiet, if you're looking for that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BFE26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average is correct”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food was good - but the value is not there. For what you pay, there are better places out there. You won't be disappointed with the food. Service was good also. Agreed with one of the previous reviews - the interior hasn't changed in forever. You'd think that since every asset in this place has been paid for 30 times over, they'd either give you more for your money or do some updating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john-54220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The service was great, but the food was ok. The atmosphere was a throw back to the 60s. The restaurant seemed clean, but could use an update.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nothing can beat it.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing can beat this fantastic place. My boyfriend and I were referred to try this place since we have yet to find a great place to eat in Sheboygan. The ambiance was great very peaceful and relaxing, we were able to enjoy dinner without a large group of people surrounding. Our waitress was very pleasant and she had great service. We ordered the large tenderloin with creamy garlic chicken soup salad bar and baked potato. The salad bar had fresh veggies which were delicious the soup was to die for with great flavor and as dinner arrived I cut open my steak cooked to my perfection as I took the first bite and it melted into my mouth I was one satisfied lady and no complaints from the man. Towards end the waitress asked if we would like desert I asked if she had a menu and instead brought a plate of the most delicious looking things I had to order even though I was stuffed. It was a bit pricey but worth every penny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmieanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best steak evah!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rupp's was recommended to us when we stayed at Blue Harbor Inn. Great old school steakhouse/supper club with a salad bar and naugahyde booths. Looks like it hasnt changed since the 50s but clean and comfy.

Our steaks were melt in-your-mouth tender and tasty. Lots of non-steak items on the menu too, so everyone will be happy here. Will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupps Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Rupps Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing