We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food with a harbor view”
Review of Mucky Duck Shanty - CLOSED

Mucky Duck Shanty
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Cheap food with a harbor view”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Restaurant's name 'shanty' is an accurate description, as it's decor is nautical but feels run down and lacking in charm. Service was very slow, and we were there midweek with only a few patrons in the place! But the food prices were down right cheap, and the food was good. No soft drink refills, and you get a very small glass of pop filled with too much ice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    17
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great prices”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Mucky Duck seemed like a cool place as we love old buildings and quaint places. The prices are by far the cheapest I have seen in the last ten years so that was a surprise. The service was average I suppose, nothing to write home about and the food fairly standard fair. If you are looking for someplace inexpensive to eat at this is the place. On a whole with better management this could be an outstanding restaurant, as it is now though its only middling. Oh, and be warned, there is a weird odour to get past at the door. My husband didn't notice it but it almost made me leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Thought name was interesting and hotel said it had been here forever so thought should be OK. Service bad but obviously they were very under staffed. Worst clam chowder ever..not even sure that is what it was. Everything fried.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The name is intriguing - the appearance is shanty-like, the location on the river walk is great - the menu was primarily lunch fare and very good - an outdoor deck for good weather eating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food okay - service lacking.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice location on the waterfront - even had live entertainment. Seated promptly then waited quite a while to get acknowledged by server. Ordered Friday fish fry special haddock - took a long time to get served but the fish was good and the potato pancakes delicious. Good bread. Service was awful - server with an attitude. Got the home made key lime pie to go - it was just okay. My bill
was only $13+ and I put down a $20 but didn't leave. The server asked me curtly if I expected
change - like I was going to give her a 50%+ tip! She eventually came back and slapped the $6+
on the table and said - "here's your $6.45!" Unreal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucky Duck Shanty also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing