We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”
Review of Mucky Duck Shanty - CLOSED

Mucky Duck Shanty
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Des Moines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Thought name was interesting and hotel said it had been here forever so thought should be OK. Service bad but obviously they were very under staffed. Worst clam chowder ever..not even sure that is what it was. Everything fried.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    17
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kewanee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The name is intriguing - the appearance is shanty-like, the location on the river walk is great - the menu was primarily lunch fare and very good - an outdoor deck for good weather eating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food okay - service lacking.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice location on the waterfront - even had live entertainment. Seated promptly then waited quite a while to get acknowledged by server. Ordered Friday fish fry special haddock - took a long time to get served but the fish was good and the potato pancakes delicious. Good bread. Service was awful - server with an attitude. Got the home made key lime pie to go - it was just okay. My bill
was only $13+ and I put down a $20 but didn't leave. The server asked me curtly if I expected
change - like I was going to give her a 50%+ tip! She eventually came back and slapped the $6+
on the table and said - "here's your $6.45!" Unreal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It met expectations. We had a quick dinner of fried perch, and the waitress was very attentive and polite. Dinner was good, but nothing special. I don't regret going there, but it won't be somewhere we probably ever go back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehappycamper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the first restaurant we ever visited in Sheboygan. Drove in from the north and found it on the river near the lake. Looked cute and had outdoor seating on a sunny day. Walked in and noticed the rancid smell of old deep fryer. Also a huge fish tank that looked to be full of algae. Decor looks like they got in right in the eighties and decided never to update, or clean. Food is typical burger etc. Homemade chips were stale. Burger well done, probably frozen. Service a little confused. Felt like we were bugging them when we asked for an umbrella on the nearly empty outside deck. Bathrooms need help. They did get the Sheboygan bratwurst right. I assume they have a good supplier. Also assume it's hard to screw up a bratwurst in Sheboygan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spaulding9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucky Duck Shanty also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing