We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wouldn't come back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Winds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Winds
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a block of rooms set aside for a family wedding. We arrived, expecting five rooms and only two were being held. It appeared that either the hotel booked 'over' three of us siblings with the same last name, or chose to sell our rooms to a much higher paying group as the Osh Kosh air show was also in town. Our reservation slip at check-in had my wife's name, my brother's address and my sister-in-laws phone number. All other hotel rooms in town were sold out. The front desk worker, who was very apologetic, shared that he only worked a day or two a week and didn't have any knowledge of the reservation issues. Upon checkout, the same front desk worker told us that he spoke with the manager and that she would not make any accommodation to our rate, to compensate for the disastrous outcome. I would try another hotel in the area before coming back to the Harbor Winds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
37
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel. It is an older, smaller hotel but they more than made up for that with their excellent service. The staff was incredibly accommodating. The room was nice and the location was great. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2happycampers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
I am thrilled that your stay was so enjoyable. The staff looks forward to hosting you again on your next visit with us. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Clean and comfortable with great location close to restaurants. Very accommodating to special needs. Extra points for double sheeting and fridge.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrpFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Great value with beautiful view of river right outside of hotel. Schwartz fish market right across the street for easy access to some nice take out for Friday evening. Generous sized refrigerator in room. Only cons were it was hard to close drapes completely and I wish it would have had a little more of a blanket on the bed, but will definitely stay there again at the price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 49 B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I assure you that I will be inspecting the drapes in all rooms to make sure that they are working properly. There is an extra blanket and pillow in the armoire in each room so I will make sure that my staff is making each guest aware of this fact. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and I apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My first time in Sheboygan. I stayed here a few weekends ago. The front desk clerk was very kind, patient and informative. Check-in was a breeze. Each time my travel party and I left and returned, we were politely greeted. The hotel is small and quiet. We found our room to be clean and beds adequately comfortable. There is a continental breakfast that was fine as far as continental breakfasts go. The hotel is right on the river with nice river views. Restaurants and bars are close by. Overall, it was a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MISSYMIDWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Its a great place to stay! The staff is super nice, and helpful in recommending what to see and where to dine. The location is excellent, close to everything. The boardwalk is right outside the door,literally, which has some very unique restaurants and shops. I would recommend the Harbor Winds to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: River side rooms have 2 double beds, Parking lot side has king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Kevin,

Thank you so much for the very nice review. If there is any way we can be of service in the future please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Sheboygan. I had a VERY CLEAN Hanicapped room with a river view for $71. a Night. Boaters can dock at a Pier right in front of the Hotel. VERY easy walking distance to Fishing Boar Charters. 3 Nice Restaurants, again wthin easy walking distance. SUPER Friendly staff. I noticed some ANCIENT Reviews that complained about the staff. Those reviews should probably be removed. Staff has certainly turned over in the last 6/8 years.
I only give it 4 stars, because the HW Hotel is not as good as it used to be. Buffet Breakfast no longer has those great Pastires. And Cable no longer has HBO. Hotel a short ride from the interesting Kohler Art Museum.

Room Tip: When you book use the comments slot. They DO Read them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbyc1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWHotel, Manager at Harbor Winds, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize about the HBO, until I read your review I was not aware that it was not working properly. We did solve the issue and you will be able to enjoy that amenity on your next visit. The pastries for the breakfast will be returning as we go into our busier season. When you return, please ask to speak to me and I will make sure that all of your needs are being met. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheboygan hotels
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
#11 of 11 in Sheboygan
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Winds

Property: Harbor Winds
Address: 905 S 8th St, Sheboygan, WI 53081-4493
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated and located on Sheboygan, WI's beautiful riverfront the Harbor Winds Hotel provides an idyllic atmosphere for guests. With direct access to the boardwalk, guests can explore local shops, restaurants or just go for a stroll along the river. We are a 28 room property, entirely non-smoking, with rooms that have 2 double beds that face the peaceful Sheboygan river or 1 queen bed that overlooks Riverfront Drive. Guests will enjoy an extended continental breakfast each morning, free wireless internet,and access to a pool and fitness room at our sister property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Harbor Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Winds Hotel Sheboygan
Harbor Winds Sheboygan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing