We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Shores(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
92
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover riverb bnew zealandyogurthistoric hotelgreat hostsseparate bathroomhome from homemin drivebreakfast each morningensuite roomwonderful staybreakfast was excellentenjoyed our stayfull kitchentown centreolivia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 100 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Wherever we stayed in New Zealand we were met with great friendliness and the informality which we so much liked. The Ferry Inn was no exception. On our first morning we enjoyed a great local walk with our hostess Glenys and her delightful Springer spaniel Buckley. The Shotover river runs just below the Inn and the historic, restored carriage bridge gives a magnificent view both up and down-stream. It's also the ideal spot for seeking out the elusive Buckley on one of his foreys into the water. On our hostess’ recommendation we enjoyed the 7km or so walk round nearby Lake Hayes ending up with lunch at Walnut Cottage, both further highlights of our stay near Queenstown.

There is much to see in this part of Otago. Our hosts kindly arranged for us to be on the early Coach to Milford Sound – did they also arrange the sun in time for our arrival there? Well worth the long but interesting journey, the mountain and sea views were all that we were led to expect. Alas we had no time for Glenorchy and Paradise or even to do justice to Queenstown itself. However, Arrowtown was delightful with its interesting Chinese Village and some outstanding restaurants for the evenings.

Our attractive room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and taken at a table looking out over the rose-covered veranda to the hills beyond the river. A beautifully decorated lounge was available for our use with plenty of reading matter relating to the locality and lots of interesting photographs giving an insight in the area’s history.

In summary, our two days and three nights were over far too quickly – clearly a case for a return visit to this lovely area and superb accommodation. We would strongly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to the Queenstown area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkengarthdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I recently stayed at the historic Ferry Hotel outside Queenstown for five nights at the end of our South Island holiday and to use my daughter's words, "it was awesome". The reasons for this assessment are many which I'll mention below but above all, the owners Glenys and Kevin Reynolds really make you feel at home at this lovely bed and breakfast.

The Ferry Hotel is located next to the Shotover River and only a few minutes drive to Queenstown's airport at Frankton. It is in a quiet location but with easy access to both Queenstown and Arrowtown if you have a car. It was a much nicer location to be at than on the busy main Frankton road where a lot of Queenstown's motels and apartments are located.

My husband and I stayed in Unit 2 which has a king-size bed in a double bedroom while our daughter was in an adjacent twin bedroom which we were able to book as a family. The three of us had our own private bathroom down the corridor. The rooms were charmingly decorated and the beds comfortable. Because of the large bed in our room there wasn't a great deal of space for our luggage but we overcame this by leaving my suitcase in our daughter's room. So for the three of us it was a very comfortable situation but it might be a little bit of a squeeze if you were travelling with two children.

For most of our stay we had the place to ourselves with another couple arriving on our last night to take up the other much larger queen room (Unit 1) which has an ensuite bathroom.

Each morning Glenys served us a great breakfast including fresh fruit salad, home-made bread and cooked eggs in the dining room. Not only does Glenys provide a lovely breakfast but she was so helpful in other ways. She booked a day trip to Milford Sound for us which was great and got me a medical appointment at her doctor's practice when I developed an ear infection before having to fly home. When I put my back out, Glenys even provided a wheat-bag to heat up to give me some relief and suggested an appointment with her physiotherapist.

Besides having access to a large lounge room to relax in, one of the other pluses of the Ferry was access to an adjoining kitchen where you could make a light meal. When you're travelling with a child, sometimes at the end of the day it's nice to be able to put together a meal rather than having to go out. We were also able to use the barbecue on the verandah and had a nice picnic lunch one afternoon in the garden.

Another great homely touch was the free use of a washing machine - Glenys even supplies the washing powder. Anyone who has travelled for more than a week knows what a bonus this is.

I must also mention the important roles Buckley (the English Springer Spaniel with a taste for sticks) and Elly (one very affectionate cat) played in making our daughter's stay more memorable. Missing her own pets, she was able to take Buckley for long walks along the river and have lots of pats and cuddles with Elly.

The Ferry is a great place to stay and relax near Queenstown. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raederle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

This past April, I was in the midst of spending a semester studying abroad in Wellington, New Zealand when my girlfriend, two mates and I decided to take a trip throughout the South Island for our two week mid-semester break. We gathered our things, planned our route and packed a two door sedan for the twelve day trip. After heading down the absolutely stunning East Coast of New Zealand's South Island we came to Te Anau Downs, the ferry port that marks the start of the four day, three night Milford Track Hike that ends at the breathtaking waters of Milford Sound, something my trip to New Zealand would not have been complete without. My mates, girlfriend and I walked the 55 KM track and finished on a rainy Monday night, exhausted and at the same time exhilarated from successfully accomplishing the feat. It was then that we were headed to Queenstown to spend two nights hoping to experience what the town had to offer.

When I had originally booked the reservation at the Ferry Bed & Breakfast, I told the owners that my girlfriend and I were going to arrive at about 8:00 PM on that Monday. By the time we had begun our trip to Queenstown and my cell phone came into service, it was already 10:30, and we still had a good hour and a half to go before getting to the B&B. I then called the folks at Ferry and let them know that we would be arriving a solid four hours later than we had originally told them. Instead of being angry or annoyed, the owners were actually a bit worried that we hadn't shown up or contacted them. They were much more concerned with our well-being than they were with anything else, and I thought that was very kind on their part. We arranged to have our breakfast at 10:00 the next morning and the owners were thoughtful enough to leave the porch light on for us and an extra key to the room in a particular place. They also told us to take our time and whenever we arrived would be fine with them, and their care and consideration were much appreciated.

We had the good fortune of staying in the main room on the property, which was warm, brightly colored and spacious. There was a separate bathroom and shower to this room, as well as a fresh pitcher of water on the bedside table and very comfortable sheets on a queen size mattress. We also had our own thermostat and phone in the room, and these small personal touches made our stay that much better.

The next morning we awoke to a beautiful, clear day and got a sense of just how gorgeous the scenery around the "Ferry" truly is. The B&B is on Shotover Road, a route from Queenstown to Arrowtown, and it is only a few KM from the city center of Queenstown. Speaking from my experience there, the Ferry is a wonderful property set in a terrific location, ideal for couples looking to holiday in the Queenstown area who want to "get away" a bit from the city feel and tourism that Queenstown is famous for. Also, because it is on the way to Arrowtown, the Ferry is set between rolling, green hills and near a river in the countryside, and this is certainly a terrific place to have a small, quiet, quaint B&B and raise Buckley, a friendly, brown and white cocker spaniel.

After serving us a full breakfast that first morning complete with homemade bread and fresh fruit, my girlfriend and I sat down with Glenys (one of the two owners) to talk about the many things Queenstown and the surrounding area has to offer. We only had a day and a half to spend in Queenstown and we wanted to make the most of the time we had there, so Glenys helped advise us as to which things to consider doing and which to avoid. Also, she was wonderful in offering us different options to experience the "extreme sports" Queenstown is known for, such as skydiving, bungee-jumping and canyoning (a combination of rock climbing, river jumping and swimming).

We ultimately chose to skydive and try canyoning (both very, very fun activities), and Glenys was great in getting us in touch with a skydiving company and a canyoning company, each of which were reputable and had great reviews. She was even kind enough to contact one of the premier skydiving companies in town and schedule a jump for each of us on that same day, which made things much easier because of how busy skydiving companies tend to be during the Fall (pardon the pun).

We left the next morning after a fun night in Queenstown and another delicious breakfast that had more good conversation along with it. Glenys was very helpful again this day becaus she helped us book a canyoning trip for later that morning, which turned out to be the final one that particular company ran for the season because the water levels in the canyons were beginning to dip too low. (Despite being a more untraditional activity, canyoning was a lot of fun and offered some amazing views of nature; I would certainly do it again). We also had the chance to briefly meet Kevin, Glenys' husband, who is the other co-owner of the Ferry B&B and he was helpful as well in giving us directions to the base of Mount Cook, our next destination.

All in all, my girlfriend and I had a spectacular time in Queenstown and our decision to stay at the B&B was certainly a great one. I appreciated all that the co-owners did for us and I would definitely stay at that property again and highly recommend it to others, without question.

If anyone reading this has any questions about my experiences in Queenstown, feel free to contact me and I'll be happy to answer anything I can.

All the best and happy travels,

Jack Bates

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Ferry Hotel in Queenstown in April 2008, for a long weekend. The Ferry Hotel is now a charming little boutique hotel, furnished with antiques and run by Glenys and Kevin Reynolds, and Buckley the dog. We had a wonderful time there, and will go back again for sure. Buckley the dog is great fun, taking us along the river and showing us the nicest walks, and his owners, Glenys and Kevin are wonderful hosts. We had a lovely room, with comfortable bed, and had several very good sleeps! Breakfast is served at a long shining table, one of many antiques that made this such a luxurious experience, cooked and served by Glenys, any amount of fresh and delicious food, hot and cold, (I love a cooked breakfast), while watching out of the window the wonderful autumn colours of the scenery of the hills surrounding the river bed. The hotel is about 7 minutes from the airport, tho you wouldnt know it, as it is a quiet and lovely location. Walking down a slope to the Shotover River, and then alongside the river in its stony bed was very soothing and pretty, and one of the Shotover river jet boats came along and and sent sprays of water glittering in the sun, very exciting! The hotel is a short drive to several lovely restaurants and cafes, set in the countryside, and a 15 minute drive into Queenstown. We found it the perfect situation, quiet but accessible, and it was pure pleasure the whole time we were there. We hired a car, and toured around the area, and Glenys booked several of the local attractions for us, such as the Shotover River Experience, which is damp and exhiliarating, and the Lake Cruise from Queenstown along the lake to the Farm Experience. She was able to tell us the nicest and best places to go, and was a friendly and interesting person who made our stay even nicer than it already was. When Qantas cancelled our flight out with about 45 minutes notice, she calmly re-opened the hotel for us (we had been her last booking) and made us another super breakfast! We will always stay there on our future visits to Queenstown, and thoroughly recommend it.
Valmai and Andrew Osborn

2  Thank vee756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MitziandDan, Owner at The Old Ferry Hotel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews