We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A vacation from our vacation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manata Lodge
PA
1 review
“A vacation from our vacation.”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Manata Lodge was a wonderful, peaceful, relaxing home base for the Queenstown leg of our New Zealand vacation. Philip and Kate were warm, generous, fun and always available to help make sure our stay was comfortable and our visit to Queenstown was as relaxing or as exciting as we wanted it to be. We will definitely be back at Manata (if we can make it back to NZ)!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I went to Manata lodge in March 10. Phil, the owner, did welcome us really well. He met us at the airport, roses were displayed in the rooms of the lodge. The lodge itself is beautfil and has a lot of space. The style is elegant and it is equiped with a kitchen. We had access to the huge garden of the property and beautfil view on the mountains. A very good price / quality ratio & a feeling of being welcome.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marie59sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The room and facilities were wonderful and most importantly it had a very comfy bed, bedding and pillows, which I find can often be the most important thing when travelling. The surroundings are very beautiful and picturesque and the hosts were incredibly friendly and hospitable. They even baked us some muffins. And thanks to a great wotif deal, the value for money was ridiculous.

Both my girlfriend and I really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Manata, that it felt a shame that we didn't stay a bit longer. Its a place I would happily visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wtezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Queenstown is a special city (great adventure activities for all ages) and Manata Lodge is the best way to experience it. In less than 5 minutes you will feel a million miles away, amid mountains, green velvet grass, rose bushes and unreal stars. Two nights here were the highlight of my 3-week trip. The hosts cannot do enough to ensure your comfort and appreciation of NZ. They are extraordinarily warm, savvy, smart and respectful to all ages. They will arrange your activities, provide transport to town, and with notice, you may have the best and most fun BBQ outside your door, under the stars, with good wine, laughter and camaraderie . They are the perfect example of the famed Kiwi hospitality. Incredible value with every amenity and convenience in well- appointed, exceedingly comfortable cabin -like rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Shotover
3.6 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
595 reviews
5.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
5.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manata Lodge

Property: Manata Lodge
Address: 111A Tucker Beach Road, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lower Shotover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Shotover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Manata Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manata Lodge is your perfect accommodation choice when visiting Queenstown, one of the world's top vacation destinations. Our stunning location, beautiful suites and outstanding Kiwi service combine to provide the ideal staging point for your Southern Lakes adventure. Whether you're visiting for a weekend escape, a ski or hiking vacation, a wedding or a long stay; the surroundings, the ambiance, the design, the attention to detail and the welcome combine to form a package which represents the very best of New Zealand hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing