We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest lodge/cabin experience ever had”
Review of Manata Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manata Lodge
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I was here for 2 nights during my time in Queenstown w/ my girlfriend. I have to say our eyes lit up and jaws dropped as we saw the accommodations. Everything was pristine, from the TV (w/ full movie channels), to the quality of the kitchen and bed. We took advantage of every amenity including the washing machine, dryer and tennis court. :) Phillip was great to hang out with and knows everything about NZ and their wine. Being less than 10 minutes away from the city centre, this is a great option if you need to take a break from the madness of QT. The views from the Manata neighborhood are simply great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aintnoglikeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Manata Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

This time last year we were enjoying warm sunshine in a perfect setting . We spent 29 days traveling around both North and South Islands of New Zealand. The trip was planned and organised by New ZealandMyway.com. Everywhere we stayed was First Class. Car Hire and programme to follow was written out for us step by step. We deviated once to visit friends which made the driving day a long one but we recovered in our comfortable accommodation.
At Manata Lodge we met Phillip Stuart (Managing Director) who was charming taking us on our own personnal wine tasting trip around local vineyards. He supplied us with Buff Oysters for our supper to go with all the wine we had accumilated. Manata Lodge is in a super position in a lovely garden near to Queenstown but away from the town noise. The property is well maintained with parking directly outside.My unforgetable moment was sitting outside on the decking at night looking at the thousands of stars shining brightly with charming company and a glass of delicious New Zealand wine in hand. Thank you Phillip for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanC6154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pstu, Owner at Manata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you, it was an absolute pleasure having you both stay. Maybe one day you will return! In the meantime, happy travels :) P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

One of our friends recommended Manata Lodge to us and I am very glad that we stayed there. The place is superbly equipped and beautifully furnished. The surrounding is awesome and it was fantastic watching the sunset over the mountains during our evening BBQ-s.
Don't be put off by the location which is a short drive from Queenstown centre. Fabulous place, superb service. Totally would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon and want to share this amazing place that was recommended to us, as the perfect place for our honeymoon - which indeed it was!!! It was the best 2 nights that we spent in Queenstown, due to being so close yet far away enough! The views complimented the magnificent gardens for a perfect getaway feel.

Our large room was tastefully decorated, and spacious. However, we did just enjoy taking the view in from our personal patio!! Compliments to our host Phil who was really amiable and organised everything to perfection. His recommendation for a mobile massage was thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: we viewed all the other rooms for future booking - and they all had a different and unique offering...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSbrownsugar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beware your gps and definitely look up the location before driving here! I was led on a goose chase by the gps. Clean large rooms. Lovely gardens. Bit far from town but very comfortable place to stay. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetrogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pstu, Owner at Manata Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Thank you for your stay and review. We enjoyed having you stay and wish you could have stayed longer. Generally, most guests using GPS units have not had any problems finding the lodge until now so I hope it doesn't become a trend! Others using basic directions from websites and booking channels drive right on in. To clarify our location, Manata Lodge is situated 8 minutes drive from downtown Queenstown, right in the centre of the Wakatipu Basin and only 5 minutes from the main shopping precinct of Frankton and the airport. Its central to everything in the Queenstown area and just off the main road in peaceful surroundings. Guests love that aspect of the lodge, no noise from buses going to Milford Sound at 6am or rowdy backpackers partying late into the night. And easy to access all this wonderful region has to offer. We hope to see you again sometime. Cheers :) Phillip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our group stayed here last summer and took over the lodge. It was wonderful! The lodge was clean, comfortable with easy access to Queenstown and the local vineyards. We loved the location and the views! Phillip is an excellent host and made sure every aspect of our stay was perfectly organized. We love the Manata Lodge and plan to stay there again next year when we return to NZ!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Fabulous mini break at Manata Lodge. It far exceeded my expectations. Everything has been carefully thought of to ensure total comfort and relaxation. The views were to die for and the host was brilliant - thank you Phillip for sharing your wonderful oasis - Manata Lodge will definite be on my favourite locations list, see you again soon !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lidaymaker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Shotover
5.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.6 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#38 of 58 in Queenstown
272 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manata Lodge

Address: 111A Tucker Beach Road, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lower Shotover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Shotover
Price Range: $145 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Manata Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manata Lodge is your perfect accommodation choice when visiting Queenstown, one of the world's top vacation destinations. Our stunning location, beautiful suites and outstanding Kiwi service combine to provide the ideal staging point for your Southern Lakes adventure. Whether you're visiting for a weekend escape, a ski or hiking vacation, a wedding or a long stay; the surroundings, the ambiance, the design, the attention to detail and the welcome combine to form a package which represents the very best of New Zealand hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing