We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Shawano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Shawano
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Mayville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went to this Super 8 to stay on family vacation and we have a small breed dog. We were told by the desk clerk that we could not leave our dog alone in the room so it was either leave someone behind on FAMILY vacation or leave the dog in the car when it is 90+ degrees out. Our dog is not usually a Barker so we decided to chance it and leave him alone. We were gone for maybe an hour and when we got back were greeted with "Your puppy has been barking the whole time you have been gone! I told you he cant be left alone!" I found it hard to believe because we had stayed in a Super 8 the night before and never go told about our dog barking and we left him alone there! This place is definitely NOT PET FRIENDLY!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
All of our guests are important to us and we have a pet policy in place to maintain a positive atmosphere for all. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfying to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    52
    23
    20
See reviews for
97
85
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were very pleased with our room. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was spotless and had extra towels, 4 full sets. Breakfast was adequate and nicely presented in the room that used to house the spa area so it was a beautiful room. The staff was very pleasant and looked very professional. The hotel has a casino package and you have your choice of 3 casinos in the area, very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmissinglink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and hope that you will stay a Super 8 when your travels bring you to the Shawano area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Room was good, spacious, clean. But in the 10 plus trips I have taken in the past three months, I have never met a front desk staff that was as grumpy as what I experienced. Complaining about filling out casino coupons, not allowing me to change my room, I heard the word no way too often for too many things. Otherwise, good hotel - but not great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingw_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest o the Super 8 in Shawano. We appreciate your bringing your concern to our attentiion. We have retrained and reinforced our procedures with each staff member and they all understand how unacceptable this type of service is and ensure this will not happen again.
Again I apologize and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future as our goal is to provide our very best to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are big coffee drinkers and to have fresh coffee available 24 hrs was great! The room was very clean and overall comfy, as was the king size bed. The breakfast set up included actual bakery goods and not some crappy donuts from a store or something. Overall we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the staff and the price was very reasonable. Easy to get to all three casinos in the area, and the motel added comps for them. We had no need for the offsite pool and cannot comment about it(spent most of our time away at casinos, shows and boxing). We recommend for anyone looking to stay in the area with a reasonable cost and great service! Our stay was in January, so we cannot answer to any of the summer situations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blumaninwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna S, General Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate you choosing Super 8 for your stay. All of our guests are extremely important to us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Again, Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was in town for business and stayed three nights. Nice sheets, towells were not soft. Front end was pleasant. Breakfast was fine, english muffins, toast, cereal, oatmeal, juice. Right behind a Hardees, close to everything else. Taco bell had great service, the True Value in town, Qualheims helped alot when I needed, Pizza Hut delivery was fast and priced right.

Room Tip: Back side of the building was quiet, i was first floor 110 close to the entrance and still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob55371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
382 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We came to Shawano on a week-end and stayed for 3 nights at the Super 8. We asked for a quiet room and got a room at the back side of the building. The room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the lady at reception did not inform us that Shawano Speedway race track is at 300m behind the Super 8 and that every Saturday evening races on the ½ mile oval go on till 23:00hrs. We thought we were in a war zone. However when the races were over we were more than happy to stay at Shawano Super 8. The motel is well maintained and the complimentary breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for taking time to write a very complimentary review on Trip Advisor!!
We have asked the front desk staff to include the race schedule at check-in on the weekends in the summer to avoid any issues in the future. Thanks again for your review and hope you will stay at the Super 8 when your travels bring you back to the Shawano area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We came to this location after an exceptionally bad experience at another hotel in the area (one of only a few places to stay in Shawano). We counted our blessings that a room was available. The shower worked well, the bed could have been more comfortable but offered a basic night's sleep. We had to ask for soap, since none had been left in the room by housekeeping staff. The continental breakfast was minimal. And the room smelled of stale cigarette smoke that couldn't be taken care of by the Lisol we had with us. But given the way my husband was treated at check-in, we thought about leaving.

Staff seemed very nice but didn't seem to have much of an idea about service dogs. A nice clerk announced that everyone at the hotel were "all dog people." But she indicated we needed to sign a "pet policy" that required a $25 deposit -- a kind of escrow fund to cover possible damages -- that would be returned to us when we checked out. The policy seemed unnecessary, since the hotel had our credit card number and could/would charge us for any damages. And above all, such charges would not be permitted under the Americans With Disabilities Act or under Wisconsin statute. She said she "couldn't remember" when the fee was kept. The policy also had specific requirements -- that pets could not be left in the room alone, that pets could not be brought to the breakfast area, that pets needed to be taken out on the south end of the hotel, etc. Under the strictest interpretation of their rules, my husband wouldn't be allowed to go to the breakfast area with his service dog. He'd have to stay in the room, since the dog couldn't be left alone. (I signed the paper but indicated the animal was a SERVICE DOG.)

The big joke when we checked out was that someone had allowed their dog to defecate at the main entry to the hotel. It certainly wasn't from my husband's service dog, but some lazy and impolite guest had committed the one sin everyone thinks my husband is guilty of.

There are only a handful of hotels in Shawano. On a Green Bay Packers weekend, every hotel/motel from Appleton to Green Bay to Shawano raises their rates and is usually booked up. So we were grateful that we got any kind of room at all. But it is hard to put up with discrimination under any circumstances.

There's nothing fancy about this particular Super 8. The price is okay, particularly with a AAA or AARP discount. And for anyone bringing a pet with them -- please clean up after your animal. Do it because it's the right thing to do and because failure to do so undermines the rights of every disabled person using a service animal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsin-Born
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Super 8 Shawano, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of the Super 8 in Shawano, WI. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We have retrained and reinforced our procedures with each staff member. They all understand how unacceptable this type of service is and ensure this will not be repeated. Again, I apologize for your unpleasant stay and inconvenience we may have caused you. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future. It is our goal to provide our very best to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawano
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Shawano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Shawano, WI
1.0 mi away
Shawano Four Seasons Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Konkapot Lodge
Konkapot Lodge
#2 of 2 in Bowler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Clintonville, WI
20.0 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Pulaski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Shawano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Shawano

Property: Super 8 Shawano
Address: 211 Waukechon St, Business 29 1/2 Block South, Shawano, WI 54166-2678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Shawano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shawano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Shawano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes From Shawano Lake, Wolf River and Casinos Make our pet-friendly Super 8 Shawano hotel part of your Wisconsin trip and enjoy time-saving amenities at an affordable rate. We are located in the heart of town, 35 miles northwest of Green Bay and just two miles from Highway 29. Use your free passes to get in a workout at the nearby gym and pool. Connect with friends, colleagues and family with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Sleep soundly then begin the day with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza before getting back on the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our non-smoking hotel. There is plenty of parking for your RV, truck or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Shawano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Shawano
Shawano Super Eight
Shawano Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing