We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service, clean, nice!”
Review of Cedarberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedarberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Certificate of Excellence
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, clean, nice!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were just here for our son's Baseball State Tournament. There were many parents who rented rooms here. We were pleasantly surprised! The staff was VERY friendly. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast was nice with a large dining area! I thought that the beds/pillows were comfortable. The arcade area at the pool was convenient, a few games didn't work, but the staff promptly refunded our money and were helpful. Small patio/sitting area off the back of the building where we grilled out. Lots of fun, lots of memories!

Room Tip: Ours was a standard room (#202) which was spacious, nice. I think most rooms would be okay. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wnedy V- Thanks for the great review! It's encouraging to know that the staff is doing things well! Hats off to you and all the parents, because the boys (and their sisters too) were very polite and a joy to have in the Hotel! Your whole group represented Janesville and youth baseball in a very positive light! Come and see us again, anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
21
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, PA
Level Contributor
275 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this quaint motel on our vacation because we were visiting the Wollersheim Winery. It was very clean but the beds were a little uncomfortable and the pillows definitely needed to be replaced. We also tried to turn on the heat and a very strong musty smell came out of the heater. Other than that, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was basic and could have had a few more fresh items but it was very clean and convenient in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaMar4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
KaMar4486,
Thanks for taking tome to write a bit about your stay at the Hotel! Pillows are always a little tricky. A lot like Pizza, there are many different favorites! As for the PTech unit and the funky smell, that's the "dust" burning from the coils. Sorry, but It happens anytime the heater is turned on after sitting a bit. You may even notice something similar in the fall at your home or in your car?? As the summer heat turns to cool fall, we fire up all the heating units to eliminate that one-time, burning odor. Again, we're sorry and hope to see you again if you're traveling in the midwest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Cedarberry inn for business a few times.

It is a nice well appointed inn that makes you feel a bit like home.

The rooms are great, very clean and the staff is very friendly there.

The pool is nice, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metrology_Solutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Metrology_Solutions, Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences about your business stay with the Cedarberry Inn! I'm glad you had another pleasant stay and your review lets us know that we are on the right track when it comes to taking care of our customers! --Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a king room which besides the bed and desk had one of the most ridiculously comfortable easy chairs in existence. Beware, if you sit in it you won't want to get up. The room as neat and clean and while the bedding was pretty much up to current standards there are a few things that it would be nice if they caught up on. The television was still of the tube variety which wasn't really a big deal except when that it's much harder than a flat panel to turn so you could see it from the desk. It also didn't have my favorite amenity of a refrigerator, also no microwave but I don't usually miss that. One unusual thing that's neither here nor there is that you still get a real metal key to get into your room. The vanity is in the main part of the room and the tub/shower and toilet are in a separate room, a small, small room.

The staff that I dealt with were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Even the gentleman who asked us to try and keep the noise down a little bit in the meeting room as there were guest rooms above was very pleasant about it.

Breakfast was pretty much standard fare - nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either.

The biggest problem was with the heat - if you turned it on there was way too much of it. The first night I figured I'd just set it too high and that was the problem. Tried turning it way, way down the second night and it was still uncomfortably hot. Talking to other people it seems mine was not an isolated incident. And I must once more sound off on my pet peeve of hotels calling rooms "suites" just because they want too. I know I have to live with it but I don't have to like their misuse of the English language.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milwaukee.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Milwaukee 7 - Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cedarberry Inn. We value all feedback, it's the only way to improve! I'm sorry the heat was too strong and I'm sorry you had to use it in April, this year. (Last year we were in shorts by the end of March!) Glad you liked the recliner and it's comfort! There might be a little confusion about the type of room you had, as all our King Rooms come with a mini-fridge and microwave. You'll be happy to know that we are 50% complete with our flat screen conversion. Thanks again for you feedback and we hope to see you soon! -Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We usually go for a chain type hotel just because you know what to expect. We selected this place last year while traveling over spring break because of a review regarding the pool. We tried it out and have been quiet satisfied. The place is clean and well maintained. I hate cold swimming pools but this one is perfect, not hot and not cold. I'd recommend the Cedarberry to anyone traveling in this area. The owner seems to take pride in his property and it shows.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Todd P - Glad you had another great Spring Break at the Cedarberry Inn! We aren't often thought of as a Spring Break destination, but maybe Sauk City can challenge Dayton Beach!! The pool is larger than most chain hotels and is kept at an inviting 89 degrees. Glad you took a chance on an independent property and we'll look for you next year, if not sooner!? -Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a basic, decent hotel. We were basically only there to sleep, but they do have a rather large pool, by hotel standards. There was no food on site other than the continential breakfast, but many places nearby. The sink area is not separated from the room, so two people will both be awake if one is, but otherwise everything was clean and working. Check in and out was simple and quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bob L. - Thanks for taking the time to relay your experience at the Cedarberry Inn. We are happy that you had a good stay. Most of our rooms have the sink and vanity outside of the restroom. (One can be drying their hair and putting make-up on, while the other is in the shower or answering Mother Nature's call) We do have a handful of rooms that have the sink in the restrooms. If we are fortune to have you stay with us in the future, and you prefer the sink in the restroom, please make that request at check-in and we'll get you one of those rooms! It sounds like that is a situation that fits your travel needs best!
Thanks, again!
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stay at the Cedarberry Inn whenever business brings me to this area. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast is basic but always fresh. I love the fact that they still have real keys for their rooms...it takes me back to my childhood. The Cedarberry isn't a large hotel, and they may not have all the bells and whistles, but I have never had a bad experience here. Try a bottle of Wollersheim Wine while you're there. They sell it in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accountexec2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMyers_15, Owner at Cedarberry Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Accountexec2000- I"m glad you appreciate the traditional keys and enjoyed the wine! Sometimes 'bells and whistles' can get in the way of the primary goal of providing clean, comfortable rooms. Thanks for your comments and for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauk City
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
11.6 mi away
Devils Head Resort
Devils Head Resort
#1 of 1 in Merrimac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#3 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
18.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
20.2 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarberry Inn

Property: Cedarberry Inn
Address: 855 Phillips Boulevard, US Hwy 12, Sauk City, WI 53583
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sauk City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sauk City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedarberry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come share with us all the natural beauty and excitement of Wisconsin's Heartland. Sauk City and Prairie du Sac (Sauk Prairie) are on the Wisconsin River, only 25 minutes northwest of Madison on Hwy 12. The river offers perfect canoeing, eagle watching, a walleye hot spot and great scenery. Four seasons of fun include fine shops, excellent dining, birding, camping and a fantastic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cedarberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedarberry Hotel Sauk City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing