We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable experience”
Review of Dorf Haus

Dorf Haus
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Sauk City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I loved the friendly atmosphere in this cozy little rural restaurant. I ordered a petite fillet that melted in my mouth. It came with a choice of potato, salad or soup. Just the right amount of food for a meal not too much food like some restaurants give so they can charge you more. I plan to eat there every time I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandma1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Trip to Bavaria without the Plane Ride!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Dining at Maier's Dorf Haus is an authentic Bavarian experience. The restaurant's decor and atmosphere took me right back to my trip to Germany a few years ago. The food is homemade and served family style. The chicken and swiss steak were out of this world delicious and succulent. The dressing and gravy rivaled my Grandmother's. The best reason to come here though is the fantastic service that starts as you enter the door. Friendly hostesses and bartenders take the time to connect with you. The waitstaff us also engaged. Be sure to enjoy a Brandy Old Fashioned in the bar!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorlilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Setting”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is truly a hidden gem, tucked away in the sleepy little town of Roxbury, a short scenic drive north of Middleton. Old-world German decor, authentic German food (as well as traditional supper club fare) and, of course, great German beers on tap. It's very popular with both the locals, as well as out-of-towners - so get there early, or expect to wait (which isn't all bad when you're enjoying a tall weisse-beer!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“German American at its best”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Dorf Haus, located in Roxbury, Wisconsin offers up a fantastic menu of both German food and standard fare of steaks, seafood, and chicken. All are done well, and I have never had a bad meal here. One of the best meals are the Sunday chicken dinner, complete with homemade stuffing, and real mashed potatoes. Can't make it on the weekend? Enjoy the German Smorgasbord offered on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of the month. The service is wonderful and the staff is friendly. One of my favorite places in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Brunch”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were there for Mother's Day brunch recently. The buffet was nothing unusual; typical salad, turkey, ham, dressing, mashed potatoes, corn, etc. The pastries were nothing special, and the 2 kinds of cakes were so-so. We heard so many wonderful things about this place & were very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorf Haus also viewed

 

Been to Dorf Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing