We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary adventure”
Review of Wisconsin River

Wisconsin River
Book In Advance
More Info
$303.83*
and up
Self-Guided Wisconsin Canoe Expedition: 35 Miles
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Sauk City
Attraction details
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scary adventure”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We rented a canoe and two interludes so that we could float down the river, with 3 younger boys.

Due to an approaching storm things got a little scary. It became so windy the tubes would not float very easy. We planned to picnic on the eagle island, which is the only approved resting place on the two mile stretch. We cut our picnic short in attempt to out run the storm. At one point we felt stranded and helpless.

If you were thinking of taking a trip down the river, I would recommend a canoe or kayak and also pay attention to the weather.

We were also warned of a nude beach along the river, so keep this in mind if you are traveling with children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ILroadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eagle Watching in winter”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went to Sauk City area for the reported eagle watching in the area. As the river freezes, access to fish gets more limited and the eagles will congregate on the 1-2 mile stretch below the dam. January to February are the best times if the ice is built up and is also their mating period, so the acrobatics might be observed. We were not disappointed in our two days and had 24 separate sightings of eagles. Most were soaring or perched along the river, but we did get to see one dive for a fish unsuccessfully. Viewing should be done from your car and we only parked for 15 minutes at each sighting area. There are about 5 viewing areas, but people will pull over along the road for sightings as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Canoe, hike, fish; it's all here on the beautiful Wisconsin River. Lots of gorgeous solitude and sandbars!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The memories just flow back”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My gandparents had a cottage on the Wisconsin river (specifically the Lake Wisconsin area. It is where my gandfather taught me how to swim & fish and form the man I am today. I go back and see friends I made decades ago and now our families have grown with the Wisconsin River. They come back and allow me to remember some of the most of memories that can only be experienced. Experience the Wisconsin River and make some lasting memories of your own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank k5of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A grand weekend”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We rented canoes from Blackhawk River Runs in Mazomania and paddled downstream to camp on a sandy island four hours later. Loved that spot: the Milky Way, no mosquitos, fish jumping, quiet. The next day we floated and paddled all day, stopping at Bob's Resort for lunch. Lots of people fishing, kayaking, sunbathing. We camped 24 miles downstream on a sandbar inhabited by sandhill cranes. The next day we had a peaceful morning of paddling and bird watching and took out at Mascoda where we had a picnic at the city park and waited for Blackhawk to transport us back to our cars. A lovely weekend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin River also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing