We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Caring Staff at Lucerne Inn”
Review of The Lucerne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lucerne Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dedham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our party of 27 was graciously cared for at every step of the way for the weekend. Even the winter weather in spring let up so that we had a gorgeous sunny view of the lake and Bald Mountain off in the distance.

The new room furnishings was a plus.

Room Tip: Plent of space for kids and it worked well for the 8 week old, with out disturbing others. Pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonlee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 195 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We had an over night stay while we were visiting Acadia National Psrk. The hotel is amazing with great location and view. Room is had the things that you msy need to make it comfortable stay.

I will surely suggest to others.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Pranav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My partner and I chose Lucerne Inn to tie the knot because I love the setting and after having visited in 2013 we loved the service. Jason helped us with every detail and made it a very special day for us. We found this day to be relaxing and enjoyable. The entire staff was very accomodating and interested in helping any way that they could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stay at the Lucerne Inn several times each year. The rooms are great and we enjoy the food very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful we always look forward to a stay at the inn. The rates were reduced in the off season, making the stay a real bargain!

Room Tip: The executive suites have the only king beds at the inn. These rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kckmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a fun time at the Lucerne Inn, enjoying a craft Beer dinner. Our room was cozy and very affordable, friendly staff. Continental Breakfast could be improved a bit. Overall, very relaxed and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Restaurant is a GEM in disguise. It's nice and the food is tremendous. Sarah as the waitress was wonderful!! Food was some of the best I've experienced in Maine. Definitely a favorite now.
The room was pleasant, especially with a beautiful gas fireplace and a wonderful view! The bathroom dated....1980's tile and tub...rather than dated to the time period of the hotel..just worn.
Doors still use Keys...which is cute. Everything was exceptionally clean. Even the darker area's you expect lots of dust....were spotless.

I think the updating should be done with nicer products rather than "cheap" ...door moldings....rugs...furniture....bathroom wall tile.... the cheapness shows.

I understand the undertaking of this property is HUGE and you gotta do what you gotta do...but as it's redone and updated, I hope the owners value a little luxury....and make the updates NICE...like the bedding...nice bed....HORRID comforter cover...straight out of the 70's....although it was new...must have been clearance. Just those touches show.

People were wonderful and friendly. Maybe add the history of the buildings in the public places to be enjoyed....pictures and framed news, etc along the halls. There is SO much history....
It was off season (March) and very quiet.

Breakfast was the big disappointment . It's not busy (I think there were 2-4 other rooms occupied...max) and the breakfast room was not maintained...out of coffee....out of plates..bowls...and it's only doughnuts (seemed from box) boxed cold cereal, OJ that couldn't be drank due to separation in the serving container and no way to "shake it up".... there were two pastries offered, a cinnamon roll like pop n cook...the can, you break the side seal..pop, cook and eat...like that...and a croissant they offered..pop the can, unroll, cook and serve...
I think a little more attention to the breakfast area would have made the "leaving" better. I returned to the breakfast room over an HOUR after we dined and the dishes we used were JUST being picked up...so dirty dishes sat at the table over an hour. When we arrived, I had to clean a table to sit near the window....so the staff was lax there....maybe figured no one there..why monitor the dining area?

Overall it was VERY nice, but has the potential to be SO MUCH NICER with a few touches....maybe just training.

Room Tip: Spa rating is error...Can't take OFF....We did ask for massages and nothing avail due to time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay at the Lucerne Inn was wonderful. The room was comfortable and the tavern service and dinner was very nice. The location is ideal, surrounded by beautiful scenery of mountains, hills, fields, and a lake. Each morning took a crisp walk around the Lucerne's golf course, and we spent the day time exploring Bangor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nature G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucerne, Owner at The Lucerne Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very fortunate to have such a quality staff and beautiful views. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dedham
14.0 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
10.7 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
724 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Inn

Address: 2517 Main Rd, Dedham, ME 04429-4701
Location: United States > Maine > Dedham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dedham
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lucerne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lucerne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lucerne Hotel Holden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing