We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for kicking back with friends!”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The resort at Black Bear lodge in St Germain is a great place to stay weather there for snow or sun. The lodge homes a just great, beautiful views winter or summer and the homes are just perfect for couples or families. The lodge homes have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths which is perfect if you are all trying to get going in the morning. The beds are very comfortable and the home is very clean. Kitchen is ready if you want to cook meals with dishes for four people and pots and pans. The electric start fireplace was a welcome extra after a day of sledding! Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Short drive or long walk to highway 70. gorgeous scenery. Good location to restaurants and pubs and snowmobile rental shop. Clean rooms. Nice soaps and shampoos. Hair dryer in bath. Cute dishes in cupboard. Quiet neighbors. Stairs were instantly cleared after snowfall. Bears Den had good beargers and pizza and bloody marys. Only drawbacks would be firm bed/pillow and weak showerhead stream. St. Germain is not as big or crowded as Eagle River area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLouBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Black Bear Lodge. Their accomodations are far above other hotels in the area. Service/Staff are very efficient and wonderful. We stayed in a lodge home and it was very clean and comfy. Will be back again for New Years!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snickers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

October is kind of a strange month to take a vacation, but if you want to see what God created for us the North Woods is the place to go. The colors of the trees and landscape were wonderful. Just wanted to get away for a few days and leave the rest of the world behind. Mission accomplished at the Black Bear... Stayed in a two room cabin that was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was set up with everything you needed to cook any type of meal. Most of all the beds were even confortable after a day of play. The restaurant, bar is called the Bear Den. Food was great and the cocktails were even better. The bartender and the wait staff and customers kind of reminded me of the cast of Cheers. We had a good time. Many things to do in the area or just set back and watch the leaves fall. For just a couple I think the suites would be fine and save you a little money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceLockport_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

My husband, five year old son and I had decided to get away for the weekend with our extended family. My husband's family has vacationed in the Northwoods for over thirty years and have always stayed elsewhere. But when I came across the Black Bear Lodge website, I knew instantly that it was the spot for my family. Everyone at the lodge was so friendly and helpful. The Deluxe Lodge Home we stayed in was perfect and cozy. It was a home away from home. The view of the lake was amazing! We will be starting our own family tradition of staying at the Black Bear Lodge when we visit the Northwoods!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The people at Black Bear Lodge make a real effort to see to it that their guests have a memorable stay. My 10 year old son and I stayed for three nights and had a great time. The fishing was excellent, the cabins are awesome, great location on Little St Germain lake, the food at the Bear Den was cooked to order. We will be back next year with the entire extended family. Ask for Diane when making your reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpNorthWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay at Black Bear Lodge was complemented by excellent and helpful staff, delicious pizza a the Bear's Den, a plethora of activities and all the charm of a northwoods vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
12.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
250 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
120 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
61 reviews
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range: $97 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing