We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakefront Bliss”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Appleton, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lakefront Bliss”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay at Black Bear Lodge was complemented by excellent and helpful staff, delicious pizza a the Bear's Den, a plethora of activities and all the charm of a northwoods vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

It has really gone downhill since the Misanas took over...Horrible food,rude people..Don't waste your money here whatever you do...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2015
New Ownership since Sept 2014. Lots of improvements have been made and many, many more on the way. Give the new owner and staff a chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

What we'll remember is Renee at the front desk who took the time to research geocaching opportunities in the area for us. Her extra effort made our experience special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwoodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My family is quite diverse & we all enjoy different things. The one thing we all agree on is going to the Black Bear for a vacation. The resort remains true to the northwoods feel that I appreciate from going to this area all of my life for vacations, but it is modern enough for my husband & son who are true city people. The cabins are emaculate & well maintained & even the beds are comfortable!! It is obvious that the resort owners & staff at this location really care about this property & about the people who come to stay with them. What a great value!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osborne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Black Bear Lodge 7/4 – 7/11/2009

We arrived about 10:00 pm and were greeted by a very helpful reception. I felt at ease and relieved to be treated as a welcome guest. The grounds were very quit and peaceful. We were given resort information about kids activities, the facilities, even the local fishing guide came by and gave a presentation about the history, kinds of fish, where to catch them & many tips and pointers. The Lodge had a very nice bar and restaurant, with a very tasteful décor - the food was Excellent and very cheap. The beer when down smooth and the camaraderie was very pleasant, my whole family felt special. Even though we arrived after the restaurant had closed the owner opened it back up and made the food himself ! We stayed in the “Mallard” lodge, within 10 feet of the beach, it has a huge deck overlooking the peaceful bay. It had 3 bedrooms and all the kitchen items needed, even some complementary coffee. We could sit and watch the kids play and walk 30 feet to the boat pier, where we even caught enough fish for a great fish fry. We rented one of their pontoon boats, that was a very fun day. The whole family had plenty of room to roam around and cruise the lake. We met a lot of other guests that were all very friendly and we would not hesitate to come back in the future.

Mike

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmdmiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chgo hts, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2009

You can not go wrong with your stay here. We have been coming here fishing on Little Saint for over 35 years, the past 18 with our grandson and extended family. We decided to try black bear for the beautiful view we would get from passing by in the boat at night. We stayed fall of 2007 in one of there cottages on the lake, changed fall 2008 to the lodge home and came back summer of 2009 , we are now spoiled. Will be coming back next year. They have a fantastic staff working here, everyone is so kind and they go out of there way to help you. I even called them asking for a phone # for a restaurant we wanted to eat at , from our car , and no problem at all they looked up the # for us. There house keeping staff is great . The place is so clean , and I am fussy. We had awful weather half of the week we were there, but thank goodness we were staying in this beautiful place overlooking the water, with fireplace and all . In our fall stay , my sister in law got very sick and had to stay in almost the whole week, she was so happy she had such a great place to recoup in. Black Bear staff when they heard of her being sick , sent over tea and soup for her to make her stay more comfortable. They are the best. One of the other resorts we stayed at were only out for the cash and could have cared less about people, but black bear and there staff truely care about making your stay with them a great time. They also now have extended there menu in the Black Bear den with the best Walleye ever. Even tho our weather for this summer was poor it did not stop us from having a great time and fishing was still as good as ever.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Went on the golfing special with my three adult sons. Played three different very nice courses (plus a short Par 3) and had a thoroughly good time (although it did snow on us a little bit on our third day!) The package deal allowed us to sample different places to eat/drink/shop! All-in-all we thought it was a great bonding experience for us and have told many friends about it -- some will be following through with a visit most likely.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razz1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
9.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
62 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#9 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
22 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing