We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much, I got married there!”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, I got married there!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful cabins and Lodge Homes.
Great place for a wedding and or family retreat.
Lots of docks. Great Bar and Grille on Site.
The Staff was WONDEFUL!
Groom was still cleaning fish 1 hour before the wedding :)
After the wedding weekend. May people have asked if we can do this all over again next year
( less the wedding) :)
If you want a wonderful wedding by a lake in the north woods, Call Robin! She can make your dreams come true.
If you want to put together a family retreat, this is a great place for that. You can be together but still have your own space.
I highly recommend Black Bear Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We had so much fun with your friends and family!! So looking forward to your 1st Anniversary party/ reunion...... Thanks Jenny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    42
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I spent this past week in one of the cabins right on the lake! It couldn't have been more relaxing! The grounds are kept up so beautifully and the staff are all so helpful and friendly! It was nice to have a restaurant on the grounds. The food was wonderful! We fished off the pier and caught our dinner one day! We were looking for a spot to just relax and get away from our busy work schedules and we found it!

Room Tip: The condos are really nice, but we preferred a more rustic cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much! We hope you will come back soon, there are more fish in the Little St. Germain Lake just waiting to be caught!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recommend this resort very highly! I'm a very seasoned traveler and know quality when I see and experience it. I cannot say enough for the front desk staff! THANKS Diane!!!

The restaurants in this town are amazing!! All around, a great stay and great value!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Carter,
You were the perfect guest...it is guests like you that make my job so easy! It was very nice meeting you, glad you had a great stay with us! Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We planed a last minute trip north and the black bear lodge helped is out. We were upgraded to the condo unit that also had easy access to the lake. The condo had two rooms. One had a king bed with a jacuzzi and a private bathroom. The other room had two twin beds. There is also another bathroom. There is also a kitchen and dining area. There is a fireplace with a pull out couch bed and two recliners. We would defiantly be back there again !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achung70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much! We appreciate the feedback and the kind words and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well, we went back again to Black Bear for another snowmobiling adventure. We love this lodge. It has a great location, close enough to eating places but far enough to enjoy peace and quiet. Although there are alot of snowmobilers that stay here they are not a noisy bunch. The Bears Den is a great place to get a bite to eat. Although the lodge has recently changed ownership nothing has changed, it is still a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Black Bear this past week. It was clean and had nice accomadations. Ate at the bar and had hamburgers that were good too. I would recommend staying here. It would be nice to see this place during the summer but we were intown for vintage races so not alot of time was spent at the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshkoro, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed two days in this clean modern condo. Is sits on little St.Germain Lake which is part of a chain of lake.Row boat was included and we caught some pan fish..The place is maintained well and very clean.We ate supper at the on-site restaurant,the food was good and price reasonable.The waitress gave us free piece of carrot cake each.You can take your own food along they have grills and full kitchen.We had to bring towels every thing else was there.I use a coupon from a shopping show .I would love to go again if I can afford it. Web sie is blackbearlodge.com. Phone number is 715-479-5778 .Ed was the maintaince man and he was nice.

Room Tip: When booking ask if it on ground floor.(if this matters to you)They also do wedding and big groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyNeshkoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
9.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing