We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but really petty soap offerings.”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a Friday and Saturday at this beautiful, clean lodge. The grounds are well kept, you feel comfortable the moment you arrive. The 2 bedroom unit was modern and had a beautiful view of the water. We really enjoyed strolling along the shore and sitting in the chairs on the dock. There is no daily maid service and that was fine, but the size of the soap they provide is a little over an inch in diameter (see picture). When my husband called thinking they just forgot to give us a bath size bar, we received the two inch rectangular bar. We paid more than $200 dollars a night and they couldn't afford to give out decent size bars of soap? This issue didn't ruin my stay, we will always have this pettiness to laugh about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCWItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We depend on our guests to let us know how we are doing and as a result of your comment about the size of the soap bar, we are now placing a larger size bath bar in the units. We just wanted you to know - hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just spent three nights here with my financee for a romantic getaway. Great modern lodge on beautiful serene lake. Also a great place to bring the kids and plan to rebook for next summer with the whole family.

Nice range of accomodations from cabins, suites and luxury homes which we stayed in. Large modern two bedroom condo like was very clean and all have views of the lake. The lodge provides free use of rowboats, canoes and kayaks which we really took advantage of. Can rent motors for $45/day but lakes small enough that if dont mind getting a little exercise not really needed.

Beach has a small sand area and nice shallow sandy bottom for kids. Can walk out to raft as water only about 4 feet at that point when I was there .

Also has on site bar/restaurant which is convenient but a little pricey for what you get but overall decent food. Plenty of charcoal grills about property though so most people just grileed out each night.

I used a groupon deal which broght me to the place so felt got great value for that price. Will need to see what regular rates are to see if still reasonalbe at full price. I paid about $100/night for the luxury town two bedroom home.

Overall a very nice place and I did see a resident eagle flyinig over lake every day.

Room Tip: Upstairs luxury town homes are more quiet but do have stairs to contend with. Also couple of the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an end top condo and the view was wonderful. We paid extra for end unit with extra window but we did not need that at all....the unit is much prettier than photos and very comfortable and updated decor. The staff is friendly and very nice. During the summer the stay is four day minimum and wish it could have been three. I thought a rowboat came with unit but never saw one....would have liked to explore the lake but it seemed very busy with water skiers and tubers....tried to fish off dock but no luck....we would have rented a boat but had fishing guide 2 of the days...the restaurant was convenient and the waitress was very nice....food good and reasonable....with taxes and extra end unit fee, I thought price was a little high for area. Of course it was a two bedroom unit and we came alone. Would certainly go back!

Room Tip: Don't need to pay extra for end room....the condos are on a very busy part of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBLManager, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your feedback - we're so glad you enjoyed your time with us! I just wanted your to know for future refence, the complimentary boats are located on the waterfront for your enjoyment anytime you would like to use them, and complimentary life jackets are kept in the units in the closet. We encourage all our guests to just call the Front Desk should you have any questions or need clarification on anything. Thanks again - hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Awesome resort for a family of six. Clean and perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parent4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family and I have been coming up to Northern Wisconsin since the 1960's and love it up there. After reading the outstanding reviews on the Black Bear, and no longer wanting to stay at our usual spot in Boulder Junction, we decided to try a new place. Boy, are we glad we did!!! It was like night and day. The staff are all professional, polite, and friendly. They made us feel like family from the time we booked our trip, until the time we left. The cabin we had (Mallard) was clean, well equipped, and had an unbeatable view of the lake. The meals we had in the Bears Den Lounge were fantastic! Beef brisket, pulled pork sandwiches, Catfish fingers, and the large burgers are highly recommended. The bar stays open late too, so after a tough day of fishing (LOL) it was great to hang out there, relax, and share fishing stories. As far as the fishing goes, our trip was in early June and we did great fishing the reeds. A 31" Musky within 30 minutes of being on the lake. We also ended up with some great Bass, Northern Pike, Walleye, and Crappie during our stay.
Within minutes of the lodge you have access to anything you or your family would need to please everyone. Theaters, miniature golf, hardware, bait & tackle, fancy coffee, ice cream, antique shops, etc. etc. One of my personal favorites was the Monday flea market in St. Germain. Great variety of vendors there.

Needless to say, we are looking forward to next years vacation.
I can't say enough about the Black Bear Lodge and it's top-notch staff. You will NOT be disapointed!
Thanks.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Mallard cabin, or any of the others right on the lake. Beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IndyBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was up at the lodge recently for a wedding. The property was beautiful. Our lodge room was clean, spacious, and in great conditon. We were able to walk right out our back door to the lake. The have kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats that can be used for free. All of the staff we encountered were super friendly and accommodating. This is a beautiful location for a wedding and well worth the money to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WITraveler3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My son and I came up to Germain for a long weekend snowmobiling trip. We had never been in the area, so I researched the various places to stay and eat before hand. Black Bear Lodge was highly praised by many different people on the web, so I took the chance and it turned out great.

At check-in we arrive a little late (they close the check-in office pretty early) and they called us on the road to verify our arrival time. They gladly stayed a little late for us and were very friendly and helpful upon our arrival. The seemed glad to have us and were very friendly/helpful).

The cabin we got was right on the (frozen) lake, which provided quick access for the snowmobiles. The cabin itself was perfect for what we needed. It was pretty basic, but clean and well kept. Our only complaint was that the flat screen was just a little larger than our laptop and from across the room, it was a little small. Although we were not there to watch TV, so it wasn't too bad for the little time we used it. Otherwise, everything worked out great.

For a snowmobiling trip this place is perfect. It's right on the lake and is part of the local trail system for immediate access anytime. You can even park your sleds right at the cabins.

We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
11.2 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
176 reviews
12.2 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
250 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#3 of 8 in Rhinelander
121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
61 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 1330 Halberstadt Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-8748
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Germain
Price Range: $97 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort and restaurant overlooks Little St. Germain Lake and offers cottages and lodge homes year 'round. Abundant peace and quiet, sports and activities, amenities too numerous to mention, and the best guest service staff in the business. Golf and fishing packages, family reunions, weddings, business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Saint Germain
Black Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing