We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bear Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Minocqua)
$75
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Aire Motel(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Concord Inn(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$128
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
112
45
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
45
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beansthe kitchengreat placeking bednext yearnorth woodsbear trapfamily vacationrainy weathernice place to eatperchbassoff seasongermain lakearea restaurantsan extra chargecharcoal grill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 172 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2011

we have been to black bear lodge four times in resent years,the staff is wonderfull, the grounds are great and we love the nearby eateries. We enjoy the winters for snowmobiling and the fantastic trail system that the northwoods has to offer. we are allready planning our trips for the upcoming snowmobile season! if you have never riden the trails in the area,put it on your bucket list! bring on the snow!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I took a motorcycle trip through the north woods from Minnesota to Michigan. I had looked up possible accommodations on the internet. We weren't sure how far we would travel the first day. Four hours west of St. Germain, we called Black Bear to see if there was a suite for us to stay in. The reservationist put me on hold to speak to housekeeping. They had a large party there for a week, and she wasn't sure if the suite would be cleaned in time for us. Well, yes, they had a room!
We stayed right next to the Bears Den, which is the bar and restaurant. It was exactly what we were looking for. The suite was roomy, clean, and stocked with dishes and coffee for the morning!
Joe, the bartender was friendly and attentive, not pushy. We ordered a pizza, hand made, and delicious!
We enjoyed watching the slide presentations on past guests, as well as the first snowmobile.
We think this would be a great place to stay for winter sports, fishing, or just a relaxing time as it was for us!
~Jessie

Room Tip: suite cabins and condos available
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Excellent customer service. Make continued upgrades to the facilities and services available. Great to have the Bears Den open on-site.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We loved this place and will be back next year. It is right on a very clean and friendly lake, the condos for the resort are very clean and family/kid friendly. The master bedroom has a queen sized bed, a large jacoozzi tub and a nice bathroom, clean fresh sheets for bed. The other bedroom had two twin beds, and a nice dresser and nightstand with lamp. Big kitchen with freezer/fridge that were clean and big enough to store all needed. Stove/oven, sink (big sink), cabinets and clean counter, the kitchen was nice and clean overall with a kitchen table with 6 seats. The living room had 2 LazyBoy chairs that were comfy and a NorthWoods themed couch, and TV. It had a nice coffee table in the middle. A porch going out the back door by the kitchen and a table on the porch. In the front of our condo was a park that was very fun for us all. There was a gift shop on the resort that was very nice and had a very friendly clerk. They also had a bar/restaurant that was kid friendly and nice. The owners were the nicest people, and there were complimentary kayaks, fishing boats, and paddle boats. There were pantoon rentals and water bike rentals. I reccomend you to go there if you are planning on staying in the Northwoods. We will be going back! Had a terrific experience!! :)

Room Tip: The room we were in was room 104, and that had a view of the lake, and the park, and was right on the end.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivorypiggies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just returned from a week's stay at Black Bear Lodge. Our first trip to the Northwoods area of Wisconsin. We are city folk, used to renting summer homes and were looking forward to a new adventure. We enjoyed our stay.

Pros:

Location. If you like to fish, have a boat or water craft, this is the place. The lake is at your door and it's beautiful. We bought a $15 pole and sat on the dock every night. Caught tons of fish and saw bald eagles, muskrats, you name it. Awesome.

Clean rooms. We stayed in lodge home #204. Recently upgraded, it appeared, and very clean. The sheets and beds were superior. It was completely quiet at night and the air conditioning was awesome. Also, our bathrooms had the best hair dryers we've ever seen in hotel rooms.

Bear's Den Restaurant on site. We ate there three times and took pizza out one night. They have themed dinners and great entertainment several nights a week.

Staff was amazing. They lend you board games, give you day trip ideas and always have a smile to boot.

Cons:

It seems kind of pricey for Northwoods, Wisconsin. Our six night stay exceeded $2000 for the room alone. The recently upgraded decor of our room (#204) was severely basic. No knobs on the kitchen cabinets (which stick . . . wave bye bye to your fingernails), the Lazy Boy chairs do not have side tables for coffee or drinks, the internet is ethernet cable accessible only and the bathrooms are poorly lit. That being said, the place does grow on you!

The bike/hiking trails are over a mile away. To access them, you need to go down their main road (people speed there, so watch the toddlers) and cross the highway. Also, the kayaks and the one peddle boat are very last century -- but they are free, so no complaints. The lodge provides life jackets. We recommend using them.

The bedrooms do not have suitcase space (the TV is on the dresser in front of the mirror), so plan on putting everything on the floor -- actually the master had one suitcase rack, but none in the guest room. Also, a draw string curtain pull would be far superior to the two bar pulls. The sun shined brightly through the curtain gap as our wake up call at 5:30 each day!

Overall, a fun new experience.

Room Tip: Ask lodge staff for what you want -- they put us in the quiet building!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews