We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever!!!”

Clearview Supper Club
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Saint Germain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maplewood, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been going to the St. Germain area for 30 plus years. Twice now have had horrible experience at Clearview. This last trip we went in only 4 people in bar and dining room half full. Were told by hostess it would be a 15 minute wait only two in our party. Ok, no big deal went to bar sat down ordered a drink. Three other groups come in after us all are seated immediately. No big deal thought maybe other groups had reservations. Three more groups come in 2 are parties of 2 and one party of 6. They are told there will be a 15 minute wait. At this point we have been waiting 25 minutes. The hostess then comes out and takes one of the other parties of 2 and the party of 6 back...while we still are waiting. Asked she responds your still on the list now sitting at 35 minutes. OBVIOUSLY it is who you are and who you know in order to get a table! Another thing the place smells very musty NOT a place to go if you have allergies!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST DINNER I'VE HAD IN THE NORTHWOODS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

WOW, what a memorable dinner my wife and I had at this restaurant. The pork that I ordered was wrapped in bacon and was as tender as butter. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. Dinner rolls and salad were outstanding, we plan on revisiting CLEARVIEW many times in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djaynes966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We head over to Clearview each time we are up North. This time we had a disappointing experience. They do not take reservations. We sent two members of our party of nine ahead to put our name in. Apparently, just before the balance of the group arrived the table was given away, so we had a 15 minute wait. Our group was split into two tables. Our daughter's fish was fraught with bones (the waitress said "it's fish, so you have to expect that" and her fiancé's fish was undercooked. She did not reappear in a timely fashion for it to be sent back. Given the many other dining options, not sure we'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teeitupbarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything we have ever had has been delicious, people and waitresses so friendly and helpful. Every bite is great, tried half the items on the menu, never miss going here when we are in the area. I usually have chicken or steak and always awesome, my husband loves all of the fish dishes. Great salad before meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our wait for a table was spent in the roomy bar that was noisy and friendly. The drinks were excellent when we finally caught the attention of the bar tender.

I ordered the pork medallions wrapped in bacon and my wife ordered the pork rib eye. We both felt the pork was some of the best we ever had. High marks were also given by other members of orour group for the broasted chicken and scampi encrusted chicken. The prime rib was a disappointment, tougher than it should have been. The tableside service was excellent and made up for the bar experience.

Bottom line we had a nice time and will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearview Supper Club also viewed

 
Saint Germain, WI
 

Been to Clearview Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing