We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hashbrowns are amazing!”

McGregor's Blink Bonnie Supper Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The hashbrowns are amazing!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Used to come here with my parents, and they always raved about it. After a twenty-year absence, my group took my advice and we visited late on Saturday night.

I always remember the place as being super busy, so I called ahead from where we were in Minocqua around 8:30; arrived in short order and had a couple of delicious and very reasonably priced cocktails during our 45 minute wait...totally worth it!

Most had steak, with one in the party getting scallops...all were cooked to perfection! Adding sauteed mushrooms is an excellent option too. Like the title says, you have to get the hashbrowns....awesome! The house dressing is another must have.

All in all, we highly recommend the food here...the best steaks In the Northwoods!

Do It!


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    25
    21
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place used to be premier and now it's like a stripped down version of what used to be a great place to go. Waitress was snippy, no decor on table. Spent 95 bucks for 3 steak dinners that were not cooked to what was ordered. Used to go to this place for years but something has changed and I'd rather go to Red Steer supper club in Minocqua or Al Gen from now on. Very very disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin,Michigan Border
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Been coming to and now living in Da real Northwoods for 10 years, and have never been here. Went with very good friends and was not disappointed. Looks small on the outside and surprisingly seats quite a few people. Bar area and waiting room were full when we arrived at about 545pm. Having to wait for a table can be a challenge, if you need to sit down. Those standing, were dodging the waitstaff carrying sizzling platters of delicious looking steaks. Once seated the servers were attentive and our order seemed to arrive quickly. Friends shared a T-bone, Wife, had the Filet and I had the Ribeye. All were done to our liking and were excellent. All steaks are available in several sizes, to accommodate your hunger. Prices were reasonable for what you received. Its, a drive from the Michigan border, but worth the trip. Will definatly go back

Helpful?
1 Thank statelinekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Despite the sometimes long lines (we have waited over two hours), we love going to Blink Bonnie's. The filets are awesome, and come out on sizzling metal platter. Big city taste with small town prices. We have never been disappointed in over twenty years!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skibumVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
214 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Steakhouse in the North Woods”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

McGregor's Blink Bonnie Supper Club is a good steakhouse near St. Germain, Wisconsin.
During the season, however, and particularly on Friday and Saturday evenings, the wait for a table can be very long. Needless to add, they don't take reservations. If you get there at
4 PM, you'll eat then. If you get there at 4:15, you might not eat until 5 PM or later. As a result, people spend the time waiting in the bar. Of course, that works to advantage of the supper club. Once seated, service can be quite slow since the place is so busy. Again, during the season, the clientele is distinctly a Chicago not a local crowd. Having said all of that, the steaks are well prepared and quite tasty, maybe the best in the north woods.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thoughful-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGregor's Blink Bonnie Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to McGregor's Blink Bonnie Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing