We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites”
Review of Estrold Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Germain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrold Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I love to escape up here in the winter. We tuck away in a cozy little cabin, build a fire, and pretty much don't leave the resort for three days. Friendly staff, great value, and beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Estrold Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Mprez thank you very and we are glad to hear you like our cozy little Marsh cabin. Hope to see you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband 1-year-old daughter and I met another couple and their 1-year-old at the Estrold Resort for a fall weekend getaway this October. The drive up from Chicago was beautiful. It was wonderfully relaxing weekend and the Pioneer cabin at the Estrold was perfect for a group of families. The Pioneer had 4 bedrooms upstairs. The ceilings are sloped but we were comfortable and found it added to the character. The cabin could have easily accommodated a 3rd family or 2 families with several kids. The beds were comfortable and we were cozy and warm. There was a large living room with several couches and chairs; we loved the giant round coffee table - no sharp corners for the babies. There was also a bookshelf stocked with movies and novels (maybe the complete Danielle Steele collection – haha - we didn’t have time for any reading with the kids) and a TV with cable. The stairs to the bedrooms were in the living room so we did need to “MacGyver” a baby gate by pushing a chair in front of them but that’s traveling with toddlers I guess! There were 2 bathrooms, which were clean and had a lot of storage. The kitchen was small but had anything we needed. The dining room was perhaps our favorite part of the cabin. It is open to the kitchen (perhaps it’s an eat in kitchen rather than dining room?). It has beautiful views of the lake. There was a futon in there that the kids loved playing on while the adults cooked, ate and visited. There was a HUGE table with tons of room for food prep, eating, visiting, and a game of cards… all at once! The table was a counter top material (laminate?) that was easy to clean. It was also very sturdy; I was comfortable attaching my daughter’s hook on high chair. It was honestly a pleasure to prepare meals and eat in; we only ate out twice during the long weekend as a result. The cabin also had a porch/3 season room – it was too cold to enjoy during our stay but would be perfect in the summer and served as a good place to stash the jogging strollers. Overall, the cabin was clean and comfortable.

Once we ventured out of the cabin we were thrilled with the resort and surrounding area. The resort had a small playground for the kids in addition to a “baby” swing overlooking the lake. There is a small beach, perfect for digging in the sand a bit, despite the cold weather. Just up the road was a bike path that we used for a long walk with the jogging strollers. The nearby towns had cute restaurants, shops and even a small children’s museum.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be returning. My husband, daughter and I are looking forward to trying out the Estrold Resort throughout the year!

Room Tip: Some of the cabins have lake views, some do not. There are a variety of cabin sizes to suit differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MamaKate6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Estrold Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
MamaKate, thank you for the very nice and extremely informative review! Really glad you all enjoyed your stay and we are excited hear you will be back!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place. Beautiful lake setting and cozy cottages. My only suggestion would be that the beds in our cottage seemed a bit old and were not comfortable. Honestly, I got no sleep at all, even though I was very tired. The resort and cabins are wonderful but if you can't get some rest because of sagging beds it sort of wrecks your vacation. Maybe I'm too picky but it seems investing in new and better beds would be very important and high on the list of priorities. Overall it was wonderful but the beds dampened my enthusiasm a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebirdguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Estrold Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review and honest feedback. Can you let us know which cabin you stayed in so that we can address the issue with the beds? Also were they to soft or hard? Thank you again for the feedback and we are looking forward to getting this issue resolved so your next stay will be much more comfortable.
- John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Estrold for 10 years or so.We try to go up to the northwoods for all the seasons. The accomidations here are fantastic !!!! The views and the staff are also fantastic. Many times we have brought our children and they also rave about the resort. We stay in the Maple -Tamarack-or Spruce cabin depending on the size of our party. They all have individual fire pits outside and firewood is provided..Works out great if the kids come along for they seem to hang at the community pit with all the other kids...This year our getaway was to Mi. which we did for a couple days, and we called to see if there were any cancellations at the resort. Well good for us because we were able to stay in the Marsh cabin for the week. The Marsh is a great cabin for couples to stay very comfy bed and more than enough room for the two of us. When we arrived at the resort it was like we were coming home..So much to do and see depending on which type of vaca youre looking for..I recommend for families or couples or even fishermen !!!!Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we do..See ya guys soon !!!

Room Tip: Maple Tamarac and Spruce are on the further side of the resort. Little quieter but still inclusive.M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for a 4 day weekend and couldn't have been more pleased! The owners were extraordinary! They went above and beyond to make sure all our needs were met. The cabins were immaculate and had everything we needed. It was very relaxing and stress free. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone...families, couples, young or old. There was a lot of activities! We had planned our trip for next year before we left. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The cabins had plenty of space and beds. We went with 3 couples, 1 couple had 3 kids. we rented 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were a group of 10 in the Pine and Driftwood cabins, they both were very nice. We have a great time and can't wait to go back for a longer visit. They had all kinds of things for the kids. John and Jami Burger are wonderful hosts and are always out and about visiting and making sure your visit is perfect. We highly suggest this resort. We will for sure be return guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaimonster2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staying at Estrolds was like a trip back in time of simplier days gone by. We stayed at the massive Poplar cabin which was biult log by log and right on the lake. John & Jamie our hosts could not have been nicer.Stunning views, Bald Eagles, Loons and of course plenty of fish. Can't wait to get back in the fall!

Room Tip: Lofts are a little steep so be sure to put the kids up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chutney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Germain
8.9 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
11.3 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
167 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
53 reviews
20.0 mi away
Holiday Acres Resort
Holiday Acres Resort
#2 of 8 in Rhinelander
111 reviews
11.8 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrold Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrold Resort

Property: Estrold Resort
Address: 1130 Gessert Rd, 7669 Estrold Rd, Saint Germain, WI 54558-9115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Saint Germain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Saint Germain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estrold Resort's northwoods style lodging is known for cleanliness, comfort, and cozy warmth. There are 13 vacation cottages to choose from, depending upon the size of your group. On the grounds, covering 7.5 acres of large pines, the resort features a number of recreational facilities and activities for family members of all ages, and . . . nearby are many area activities and other recreational opportunities! So come join us for some northwoods fun every season of the year, on your next northern Wisconsin vacation, at The Estrold Resort~~ OPEN YEAR ROUND ~~We cater to families, couples, and groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing