We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place to Stay in Wausau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Certificate of Excellence
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Stay in Wausau”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stay at this hotel every time I visit Wausau. I am in a wheelchair & cannot stay at family's houses. The wheelchair accessible rooms here are perfect. They are large enough to maneuver around in the room & bathroom with the chair. If I stay for an extended amount of time, like over Thanksgiving or Christmas. It's great to have the mini kitchen available in case I get hungry and don't wanna go out.

I do have a problem with the hotel though. When you are coming through the enterance, there is a fairly large bump for the door way & is difficult to get through it in a wheelchair on my own. I have a manual chair, so maybe it wouldn't be so difficult if you have an automatic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luchina_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    30
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
30
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here for a short overnight stay. The rooms were nice and roomy and the beds were comfortable. There is a kitchenette in the room and a "market" in the lobby. I did not get much time to interact with the staff, but what I experienced was good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomnioAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Need a place to stay at the last minute. Found this on Tripadvisor and couldn't have been happier. Very clean, quiet and staff was very friendly. We also had a dog and the hotel was very pet friendly. We asked if we could check in an hour earlier than the regular check in time to get ready for a funeral, and the staff was very accomadating.

The only issue was that there was no breakfast of any kind. But the suite did have a full kitchen. I guess we have gotten spoiled by other chains.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paavoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Thank you for your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Hotel of Wausau-Rotshchild. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, WI
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel was breathtaking for the price, only 79 dollars and the rooms were immaculate and HUGE. (a lot cheaper and nicer than the 150 to 220 dollar rooms in the Cedar Creek area) The beds were comfortable, each room has a large fridge, stove, full size sink, HD tv, free internet, large desk, this is a pearl in a bed of oysters for the area, and I have to say, I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and this one ultimately ranks in my top 3 for sure, like I said this is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dude_Holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This place seemed brand new because it was so clean and well-kept--though I see on this site that it is not that new. Rooms were very pleasantly decorated, beds were the most comfortable I've experienced (even in high-end luxury hotels), and they had the quietest hotel room heaters I've ever (barely) heard! They now have a continental breakfast included in their reasonable price (new for the last month). Full kitchen in room with grocery store very close by. Price very reasonable for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is the first Candlewood Suites hotel I have ever stayed in. I stayed because I was in town on business. Their staff is out of this world. The room I stayed in had a kitchen with a full size fridge, stove and even dishes. I will stay there everytime I go there. I reccomend it for the business travler who like to be taken care of. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Kudos to the people who hired them and great job to the staff for taking care of me while i was there.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Markindublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeman, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is the first extended stay hotel we have stayed at that does not offer the emeties other hotels do. They have no continental breakfast, instead you have to buy your food from a mini store they have for jacked-up prices. The maid only comes in once a week to clean your room. We have little ones so the dirty diapes piling up in the trash make it pretty gross. They dont have a pool, not a huge issue but it would be nice.

  • Liked — Had a room with a separate bedroom
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ajthompson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothschild
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wausau-Rothschild
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wausau
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Rothschild
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel
Address: 803 W Industrial Park Avenue, Rothschild, WI 54474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Rothschild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rothschild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of Hwy 51/I-39 at Exit 185, on Wausau's south side, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel is the perfect choice for your stay. In addition to our easy to find location, we are just a short walk to the Patriot Center & only 11 miles from the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) & Granite Peak Ski Hill at the Rib Mountain State Park. During your stay, relax in one of our spacious guest rooms & one-bedroom suites complete with fully-equipped kitchens, free HSIA and wireless Internet access, 37-inch flat screen TVs with cable & DVD players. Our guests can enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning in our comfortable breakfast area. During your stay, take advantage of our state-of-the-art fitness center which is adjacent to our free guest laundry facility. Grill out during the great summer days in our Gazebo Grill available to guests or relax in the great atmosphere of our pool area. In town for business? Utilize our well-equipped business center & well-lit executive desk, two-line speaker phone & voicemail in each guest room. Our hotel offers easy access to all Wausau area business destinations including Greenheck(R) Fan Corporation, United Healthcare, Siemens, Domtar, WPS(R) and the Weston Power Plant. Make BEST WESTERN PLUS Wausau/Rothschild Hotel your base of operations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wausau-Rothschild Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Rothschild
Candlewood Rothschild
Rothschild Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing